1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Ginger Villain: How to get 7 home screens?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ayrique, May 26, 2011.

  1. ayrique

    ayrique Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Hi!

    HTC Desire, first time rooter and Ginger Villain user. I cannot find a guide for Villain, and I'm going crazy trying to find out how to change it to 7 home screens. It only had 5 from the install.

    Also, if anyone has a link to a guide explaining the functions that are unique to Villain, it would be much appreciated.

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ninja_reject

    ninja_reject Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    536
    83
    98
    You can download go launcher from the market. I think some other launcher replacements have customizable screens too, like launcher pro, or adw.
     
  3. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    Gingervillain is the ROM. It's like a system package for your phone. It contains the OS, some core apps, etc. It uses the normal Android Launcher.

    On your stock phone, you were using the Stock ROM provided by HTC. Thus, HTC packaged different apps with it, gave you a different OS. The HTC Sense that was on your stock phone is a group of apps (a launcher, widgets, and some core programs like the camera app, the calendar app, etc.).

    The HTC Sense launcher allowed 7 screens. The default Android one has 5.

    To get 7, you need to install a launcher that supports it, as ninja said.
     
  4. ayrique

    ayrique Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Thanks both! That explains it.

    I think I miss the familiar Sense widgets too much to stick with Villain, so I suppose installing a Sense-based ROM is the right way to go for me. Villain also became very unstable after restoring all my apps and settings using Titanium.
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,729
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,729
    14,935
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Restoring settings was the problem - you cannot assume these are compatible between different roms (though you may get away with it where the roms are very similar, between sense and non-sense it certainly won't work).
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...