1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Ginger Villain tap to focus in cam?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by deanshep85, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    well I've done it after hours of REALLY REALLY stupid pissing about with the phone (sorry again dan) I've got Ginger Villain 1.0 on now..

    I really like what I see at first....the only thing that im not liking and im not sure if its just me or in general...theres no tap to focus anymore in the camera app...is this normal?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    hey dont worry about it.

    erm, not sure actually. im not much of a picture taker myself. i think in settings it defaults to autofocus.
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,468
    Posts:
    25,175
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    25,175
    19,861
    3,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    No, it's not there right now. The camera in DeFroST had more features, so I've always assumed that was the CM camera, and that would return at some point. But note the word "assumed". Don't know whether the camera in CM7 has this.
     
  4. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    just turned autofocus off to see if it gives manual control and still nothing...bit of a shame really if its missing because its a pig if you want to do self pics or something and really needed the larger screen as theres no dedicated camera button...

    I find trying to use the trackpad a cow at times to use...and the lil on screen cam is hit and miss if you get it lol

    I kinda hope it gets the update...as I do use the camera a bit...and this one is well a lil ugly too....I loved the fullscreen and pop out menu on the stock sense and leedroid ROMS...kinda not liking this one...

    it might be the thing that actually sways me back to leedroid really...as small as that sounds..
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah just looked myself and most the settings from defrost aren't there, but the camera is currently running off a hack anyway
     
  6. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    what other settings are missing?

    also is the defrost cam better looking? as Im sorry but the ginger one is ugly as sin...I know its vanilla android and everything is basic...but damn man the camera app looks ugly...its that grey boxy feel that is bleh! lol
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I can't remember, there were just more settings. Don't really use the camera so couldn't say what.

    Defrost camera looks the same. In defrost 6.1 the camera is.much better than the sense one
     
  8. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    im torn then if the cam gets updated to the defrost one.....torn between features and its ugly ass interface or the sense one lol...
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Once you get launcherpro on the case, its a pretty crisp interface. And the themes in theme manager are cool aswell.

    However, its not for everyone.
     
  10. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    actually apart from the camera thing im in love with it...no sense stuff..

    though im a lil confused bout the dialer though...when I first booted it would go straight the dial pad in launcher NOT launcher pro...but after I had a call it now refused to go to the dialer straight away...I've even cleared my call history in hopes to kick it back straight to the dial pad when you launch phone...

    am I missing a setting or just going crazy? lol
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It goes straight to the dial pad for me when I press phone in launcherpro.

    what does it default to for you?
     
  12. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    both the vanilla launcher and launcher pro default to the call log now for some reason..
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    What does it default to if you open phone via app drawer?

    Have you tried clearing defautls?
     
  14. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    there are no defaults to clear in either dialer or dialer contacts I can see...and whatever way I open it it always goes to call log...is there a setting or something?
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Can't see one, ive been looking.

    I honestly thought there was one but cannot find.

    Only othe roption at this point is clear cache / data. of course you'd have to back stuff up before doing that
     
  16. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    ah bugger that...I've had enough of wiping things for today....I can easily just click one thing to the left when I hit the phone lol....its not a major thing...just a lil annoying...

    whats actually very weird..is sms unread count actually calls the dialer properly lol

    talk about sticking the knife in a twisting it a lil lol
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Hmmm, if I untick "return to dialler after call" it goes back to "call log".

    Try setting this option and making a call (even yourself) and see if that changes it.
     
    deanshep85 likes this.
  18. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,347
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1,347
    123
    143
    UK
    oh your good....that did the job just fine Dan....now it goes to dialer...

    right...now just to wait for camera update....ok MAYBE not the look of it...but at least tap to focus and take picture...its still bloody useful for a phone with no damn key...lol
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Cool I hoped that would work.

    Might be worth trying defrost just to see if the camera is useful to you. If you dont like the DF camera, not much point waiting for GV (if it ever gets it).
     
  20. kolipe

    kolipe Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    53
    2
    16
    Dan and deanshep, you could spoken over the phone of met somewhere to discuss this...Lol
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Isn't this what forums are for?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...