1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root gingerbread 1.3 and 1.4

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ducky1979, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Whats new in these updates?? ive read the changelog, does the new kernal provide better battery life?? is it worth updating from 1.2? the echo fix would be good coz that does my head in a bit. just wanting some feedback cheers!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,527
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,527
    14,653
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    There is an echo fix patch for 1.2 (download in Villain Setup).

    1.4 is a newer version of android (2.3.3), CM updates (e.g. nokia-like audio profiles). 1.3 is just 1.2 with some tweaking of RILs. There were also a few people had SD card problems when using 1.3 - not clear why, may not all have been same cause, may not even have been the ROM, but I'd probably skip straight to 1.4 anyway.

    Battery life? I did what usually do: installed the HAVS version of the GV kernel, ran it a few hours, compared the gradient of the battery graph to before the ROM install, then flashed my trusty ManU-1.3 kernel back again.
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    1.4 is nice, there are only minor adjustments but none the less they are there
    you do not need to wipe when you flash, just make a backup as precaution

    i use manU-1.3 havs axi kernel from eviolette too
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I use the manU HAVS AXI CFS too.
     
  5. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Cheers guys, ill probably install 2moro, is it better to download then install via recovery or just use villain? Also what are rils? And where do you get the kernels from and what sort of a difference do they make?

    EDIT: Just checked your Sig SUroot for the kernel, I take it you use the gingerbread one? Will it increase my battery? More so than the one I will have currently.
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,527
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,527
    14,653
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    The kernel we're talking about can be downloaded from here.

    If you don't have a recent nandroid you want to enter recovery to make one before flashing, in which case you may as well install from there while you are at it. Otherwise it's up to you, though I prefer to use recovery directly.

    RIL is a Radio Interface Layer - "driver" is the usual analogy people use. Comes with the ROM, but this was being changed in recent ROMs, and in 1.3 there was an optional RIL update as a flashable zip.
     
  7. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    So if I go to 1. 4 this will have the new ril in it and this will help to make the phone smoother? And the kernel will control the CPU speeds and voltage increasing battery life? I must say though that I'm impressed with the battery at the minute, I unplugged at 0930 have had a few calls and texts mobile data on, WiFi on and still have 66% left. So if this can be bettered with a kernel upgrade I will defo be doing it.
    also would I have to do a2sd again after the flash?
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    the kernel we are referring to has much better battery life
    you need setcpu to set the minimum to 128 and the max to whatever you want (i use 1113) then when it sleeps it hardly uses anything
    i also have a shortcut to the background data area of the phone and i turn that off overnight as i dont need it synching.
    battery life is fine
     
  9. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Cheers shaniqua, what about the a2sd? Or does that stay as is? How long does your battery run for?
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    no problem, a2sd will remain as is. you need not change anything
    my battery lasts about 36hrs light - moderate usage

    i need list of names, i got susans
     
  11. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Cheers I'm known as tulula, ;-) lol, thanks for the info, I nandroid'd only a couple of days ago so ill flash 2moro sometime. And flash the kernel. Can't wait till 36 hours of usage.
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    no worries tulula.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    IB is Mandy
     
  14. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    LECTER is betty!
     
  15. andyknights

    andyknights Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    122
    14
    38
    In order to flash a kernel (I assume this doesn't occur if you ONLY flash GV1.4) do you simply ...

    (a) NANDROID backup
    (b) save kernel to SD card
    (c) wipe caches (standard and dalvik?) - does this break anything, I assume not given it's just a cache?
    (d) go into recovery and install kernel from zip?

    Is that the process? Will this (somehow) get me better battery life, with some setCPU tweaks? The custom ROM has improved battery life a bit, but if there's more to be had....I'll have it.....
     
  16. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    I'm not 100% certain, but I don't think you have to wipe anything (provided your already runningGV). If you wipe the dalvik cache all your apps (if using a2sd) will not function, but if I'm wrong someone will let you know.
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You dont need to wipe anything to flash a kernel on your existing rom. Nandroid backup then flash in recovery from SD
     
    andyknights likes this.
  18. andyknights

    andyknights Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    122
    14
    38
    Quickie...should I install an updated ROM version from villain setup, or through recovery, flash from zip?
     
  19. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    I did mine through villain setup last night, worked a treat, but I installed the kernel from recovery,
     
    andyknights likes this.
  20. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,527
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,527
    14,653
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If you wipe dalvik it will be rebuilt when you next boot - it will just make the boot a slow one.
     
  21. andyknights

    andyknights Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    122
    14
    38
    Ok - done it - am on GV1.4 and the kernel mentioned in the thread earlier - wait and see what the performance is like now I've changed the settings to those Rasta mentioned earlier in setCPU....

    Thanks all.
     
  22. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    I'm actually using the CPU control within juice defender, will this be as good as setcpu? My limits are min 128 max idle 768 max 1113. Will these limits give me the best results?
     
  23. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    ive never used juice defender, never fealt the needs
    i just set min 128 and max 1113 and leave it at that (i use on demand governor)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...