1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Gingerbread (Android 2.3) goodies on Galaxy i7500

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lelouch, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    Well, Gingerbread SDK is out since yesterday and we already have Gingerbread keyboard for our unit.

    There you go. :cool:

    Have a looksie. :p

    EDIT: use Obihoernchen's link
     

    Advertisement

  2. weasel

    weasel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    401
    23
    38
    Nuclear Operator (no shit !!)
    Renfrew, ON
    Put it on a few hours ago. Seems to work well so far !
     
  3. Naruvam

    Naruvam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    161
    7
    36
    Serbia
    Working realy nice. Now if only it wasnt so damn small in portrait mode :D
     
  4. r3dpuma

    r3dpuma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    211
    13
    38
    Student, engineer
    Mangalia, Romania
    Working nice. I like it.
     
    N1cus0r likes this.
  5. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    Who doesn't? :D
    It is a port from the new Android 2.3 aka. Gingerbread. :p
     
  6. Prongs

    Prongs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    10
    0
    35
    Student - Game Development
    Madras
    If only i could get a comma in the main buttons :| but looks and works brilliant
     
  7. r3dpuma

    r3dpuma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    211
    13
    38
    Student, engineer
    Mangalia, Romania
    You can! Just go to the keyboard settng and set the "settings button" on automatic. And then you'll have a comma :D
     
  8. Prongs

    Prongs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    10
    0
    35
    Student - Game Development
    Madras
    Wouldn't it remove the mic(voice) option? darn, why haven't i tried it all these days :| Oh well, was playing around from 8pen to swype to better and advanced keyboard.

    2.3 looks awesome.
     
  9. ct2020

    ct2020 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    128
    1
    56
    Sr. Technology Consultant
    Canada
    I get installation failed. I fixed permissions and tried again a few times with the same thing.
     
  10. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    Did you use Obihoernchen's link?
    And btw, are you using GAOSP?

    This is for GAOSP only, sorry. :p
     
  11. ct2020

    ct2020 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    128
    1
    56
    Sr. Technology Consultant
    Canada
    Pretty sure I was using Obi's link. Yup, I'm on GAOSP. I ended up finding a .apk package from XDA forums. Worked beautifully. I love this keyboard.
     

Share This Page

Loading...