1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

General Gingerbread doesn't use both cores of the cpu??? Then my app is lying.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Satires, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. Satires

    Satires Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

    Jan 28, 2012
    772
    123
    113
    Employed schmuck (For now).
    Nowhere land..
    I've heard it from more than one source that the gingerbread OS doesn't utilize both cores.

    I have an installed called "System Panel"

    It says different!

    If I go into menu/monitoring and move the screen up and down really fast to put a load on the phone, the first core lights up and the second core then kicks in.

    Is this BS?

    It does show the core usage in real time. If I just leave the phone sit, the second core goes to sleep.

    Wutcha think?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Of course it uses both cores. Otherwise it wouldn't he a dual core phone


    Based on what you posted your phone is operating normally
     
  3. DrewFtw

    DrewFtw Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012

    Aug 21, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Gingerbread as the operating system isn't programmed to use multiple cores, but there are plenty of apps that use multiple cores. So whatever app your using knows how to use both and thats what your seeing.

    When you move up to ICS multiple core use is built into the OS so you should see some performance improvements.
     
  4. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    This is because of the default mot_hotplug CPU governor.

    Whenever the phone isn't doing anything hard, the second CPU isn't turned on. That saves a good amount of energy. When the phone starts to do something more process intensive, then the governor meets the requirements to turn on the second core.

    From the the Android CPU governors explained thread on these forums:

     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock

Share This Page

Loading...