1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gingerbread Impressions/Complaints

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by flightwriter, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. aviator

    aviator Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    27
    7
    16
    Ohio, USA
    DOH!! Guess I am a bit behind then. Oh well, I still appreciate the update!
     

    Advertisement

  2. phlojo

    phlojo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    105
    5
    36
    IT
    Romania
    A bit off topic, but I really liked Dolphin HD in the beginning. Lately (in the past few months) it's been s-l-o-o-o-w. I open it, click on the address bar or search bar... I still have to wait some 5 seconds before I can actually type. Very annoying! I find myself using the stock browser more and more. They really need to work on the performance.
     
  3. civiczero9

    civiczero9 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    i like the black theme alot but i hate the dialer
     
  4. ecdysiast

    ecdysiast Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Don't like:

    Had to reinstall Swype
    Have to reinstall Yahoo! mail
    Trackball doesn't wake up phone using NoLock
    Juice Defender icons show wireless access always off (even when it isn't)

    The trackball turnon is much more convenient than volume control; hope it's fixed soon.

    Like:
    Actually I don't see any aesthetic or technical improvement over 2.2 at all, especially since I don't use the Android keyboard.

    ecdy
     
  5. tardman91

    tardman91 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    New Port Richey, FL
    Why did you have to reinstall Yahoo! mail? Mine seems to works fine since I updated. Am I missing something?

    Is your phone rooted? I don't have the option to move Flash.
     
  6. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    yes ,his phone is rooted :))
     
  7. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
     #120
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    648
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    tardman91 likes this.
  8. Kurisu

    Kurisu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    93
    9
    16
    Definitely worth a look into Tardman, it freed up 30+Mb on my N1 and allowed me to reinstall apps I regretfully deleted due to space issues. You can see my excitement about it in a thread about internal space rants several threads below.

    I was very apprehensive about it as I have never had any sort of experience with command line interface stuff but it was very simple to do with the available instructions.

    To be honest, for me, the ADB trick was more exciting then GB:D
     
  9. tardman91

    tardman91 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    New Port Richey, FL
    Sweet. I'll have to do that. Should be a piece of cake. Can anyone confirm that it works with gingerbread yet?
     
  10. Kurisu

    Kurisu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    93
    9
    16
  11. ecdysiast

    ecdysiast Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I had originally installed Yahoo mail when setting up the phone from a wipe. Used the setup routine that asks for mail server and a port number Worked fine in 2.2 but wouldn't connect in 2.3.

    Fixed by downloading Yahoo mail app from Market. Works fine and much nicer GUI.
     
  12. TOR

    TOR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    66
    1
    16
    I had that problem. I rebooted my phone and it seemed to be fine.
     
  13. outoffocus

    outoffocus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    145
    0
    35
    Posted my 2cents here already. I'll add now that this update is strong enough to keep me happy with my N1 (even compared to all the sweet phones coming out) for another year or so. Might be getting myself a companion honeycomb tab in the near future tho. :)


    Sent from my toilet using my non wipe hand.
     
  14. droid_nexus

    droid_nexus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    67
    2
    16
    so far I think it is a really nice improvement for android.
     
  15. pilot221

    pilot221 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Anyone elses battery use screen jacked up? The grey bar at the top that has the time isn't like all the other grey title screens on the phone. It's misplaced, the text doesn't fit in the box and there are green and blue lines that make no sense. Seems like something went wrong.

    Other than that, everything else appears normal on that screen.

    I re-read my post, it's obviously the battery graph/chart on top of the time on battery text, but it can't be done like that on purpose...could it? Looks bad.

    Edit:
    After more time, it appears it's normal and the grey represents the battery...never had it fully charged so it looked weird. Ok I guess. Guess I didn't know it was a new feature (or is it old?).
     
  16. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Try tapping that 'grey bar' and it will suddenly become clear...
     
  17. BobbyPhoenix

    BobbyPhoenix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    101
    26
    43
    Orlando, Florida
    I love the new battery use display. The graph at the top is so cool, and when you click on it you see more info on what is/was on for how long. Along with it displaying the total time on battery I found a little Easter Egg (so to say). I like keeping track of how long my battery lasts since last plugged in, but usually (as in my experience) the counter only counts while the battery is in, and the phone is on (makes sense), BUT with GB after you unplug it, and the counter starts, you can actually power off the phone, turn it back on, and it still keeps time from UNPLUGGED. Also it works even if you power off the phone, and REMOVE the battery from the phone. I found this by accident. I just happen to check my counter, and had a freeze playing with some apps. I did a battery pull, restarted, went to check battery use again for fun, and it was at the count from before I removed the battery. Pretty cool. If you all know this, and I just found it, sorry. :)
     
  18. flightwriter

    flightwriter Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008

    I think I just found another oddity regarding GB and NoLock -- I now need to disable NL completely and cycle through the Sound On/Off swipe bar before audio or video will play through my earphones. If I fail to do this first, audio will still play through the phone speaker, even with earbuds plugged in.
     
  19. pilot221

    pilot221 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Yeah...when I first looked at it my battery was not charged much so it looked like an alignment error or something. I didn't realize they used the graph colors on that as well. Looked funky.

    Now I just need to figure out why 'Maps' is using the most battery when I haven't even used it yet.
     
  20. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Signed into Latitude?
     
  21. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #651
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    252
    10
    38
    Male
    Updated "User's Guide" team...

    www.google.com/googlephone/AndroidUsersGuide-2.3.pdf

    ('spose you all knew & you've all read it already...)
     
  22. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #651
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    252
    10
    38
    Male
    Had I missed these before?? I thought that ..
    Quick System Info => Sensor only listed 5 sensors before

    .. anyway now there's 3 more I don't remember from earlier...
    - Gravity Sensor
    - Linear Acceleration Sensor
    - Rotation Vector Sensor..


    bleedin' amazing!
     
  23. Eeyore

    Eeyore Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    The keyboard has force closed on me several times and has malfunctioned many more. I'm tired of re-starting the phone to recover. I hope that they fix this soon.
     
  24. jsarino

    jsarino Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    14
    2
    36
    Male
    Online Community Specialist
    West of the "upside down horseshoe", Missouri
    I have the same issue as you with my OS taking up a lot of battery life (65%). Do you have a suggestion on disabling the GPS antenna, if that is the root of the battery draining? Sorry ahead of time if this is a newb question, but I don't have the SwitchPro widget either. Will it work with Gingerbread?
     
  25. JevyJav

    JevyJav Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    134
    42
    43
    VT
    Overall I am greatly pleased with GB it is quicker, I have more space, the keyboard rocks(actually made me leave swype) and I now have a solid black notification bar.

    The dialer kind of irks me a bit. I wish they would have made the whole thing flat black. It looks as if its half done.

    I was reading a comment above mines where someone was complaining about the copy and paste implementation. They seemed to be under the impression that this is the first time android has gotten the ability... Dude We've always had copy and paste functionality since 1.5, here they've just improved upon it; Greatly!.

    Another thing that irks me is everyone acting as if the battery status and app manager thing is new...
    WE'VE BEEN HAD BOTH OF THOSE for God knows how long. I actually kept short cuts to both of those functions in my dock when I was using froyo.

    With that said overall there's not much new here other than some streamlining behind the scenes tweaks and some garnishing.

    I know my phone in and out so much of the gingerbread tweaks that I currently enjoy the most such as the keyboard, notification bar and copy and paste I had already found ways around back when on froyo.
    1. On Launcher pro I would hide my white status bar for looks to prevent burn in and access it with a flick of the menu button

    2. I used swype

    3. DOLPHIN MINI IS THE BEST BROWSER OF ALL TIME :-D
    Oh sorry for getting off subject, anyway gingerbread kicks ass too almost as much as dolphin mini ;-)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...