1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gingerbread impressions/tips/problems NON ROOTED STOCK ONLY

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ndh777, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. Chaosphere

    Chaosphere Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I was wondering if it is necessary to back-up all my apps/games before downloading Gingerbread? Also, is it necessary to unroot my phone for this download? I haven't tampered with this phone in anyway, so will it be ok to install Gingerbread? I've heard that I should unroot my phone or else it will mess up if I do download. Just want to make sure it's true.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sgt. Slaughter

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    62
    17
    18
    haha BSOD, the same guy posting about the EVO3D "...to launch with "Ice Cream" 3.1 or shortly there after but definitely before the holidays ..."

    Funny IceCream is not 3.1 as thats a honeycomb revision update. So far noone cept google knows the numbering used for IceCreamSandwich for sure.
     
  3. vinnyt225

    vinnyt225 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    71
    3
    16
    so i have folders and some icons inside them are blank, like they are the generic android icon. i deleted my folder, made a new one and the problem still shows up. i checked and unchecked fast boot and the issue still occurs... what does fast boot exactly?? i restarted and powered off my phone and it takes a long time to boot up...and do u guys think restoring to factory default will fix these issues? thanks!!
     
  4. vretil

    vretil Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011

    Feb 17, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    Update works great on my phone. Only issue I'm having is with yahoo video chat. Is anyone else experiencing problems with that? Any fix if so?
    Btw no apps or contacts lost during update.
     
  5. cuellarm

    cuellarm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    31
    8
    16
    Houston, TX
    So far the only issue I am experiencing is the icons inside folders for some apps appear like a generic Android logo, same issue others have mentioned above. I tried replacing them, even saving the scene again, but after reboot they are gone again. The apps work if you launch them, it's just the icons inside folders that you have created.

    Other than that, very noticeable improvements in overall speed, responsiveness, smoothness, and battery life. Great update except for the icons issue. Fewer apps appear to be running now per the Running Services monitor, which is great.

    Has anyone noticed the contents of websites on the stock browser appear a little smaller, as if they are now slightly zoomed out? I noticed it first on picasa web, which used to fill the screen, also m.facebook.com. It's not the text size or zoom, I didn't change any of those.
     
  6. bupolo

    bupolo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    278
    39
    43
    Male
    Los Angeles
    How do I take a screen shot?
     
  7. EVOeli

    EVOeli Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    29
    1
    36
    LED not working for messages.
     
  8. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,772
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,772
    1,819
    693
    Male
    USA
    If you are rooted, check out the rooting section of this forum to get the rooted version of the update.
     
  9. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Shoot me app.
     
  10. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,893
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,893
    3,626
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    shoot me app does not work in the latest GB 2.3...
     
    drexappeal likes this.
  11. gfearz

    gfearz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    My phone was also doing this yesterday. This morning my phone went back to the HTC screen did a quick reboot, changed wallpaper back to stock and all my icons came back into my folders? Changed my wallpaper back to what it was and everything is still ok. Go figure. :thinking:
     
  12. superflex

    superflex Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    The compass is definately borked. It was never real good, but now it's useless. Same with Google Sky Map.
    My ring tone was reset to some goofy song shit.
    I missed a call while grocery shopping, but the missed call didn't show up in the call log.
    Fede's music app crashes. Was never great, but now it's annoying.
    LED notifications are working for me.
    Battery life and reboot times are better.
    Some of my contacts now have new pics. Linked phone to Google?
     
  13. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Damn. I hadn't tried it since the upgrade. Thx.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  14. steveo41733

    steveo41733 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    78
    0
    15

    This would be awesome, guess I will hold off on rooting until I see if this pans out.
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Lot of faith to put in someone who was right last year, but just very recently predicted that the Evo 3D would be out before the holidays with 3.1 Ice Cream (after 3.1 was already established as the Honeycomb update number, something he apparently wanted to argue), among other things.

    OTOH, the Evo 3D will be out before the holidays, a full 5 months before Thanksgiving in fact, so maybe's it's just me.

    Could happen.

    BTW - if you want to root, do it before the update. Then just go with the rooted update, per the All Things Root Evo subforum here.
     
  16. AlwaysAngry

    AlwaysAngry Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011

    Jan 15, 2011
    125
    9
    36
    i just noticed that i can NOW select the 2nd option in the google auto-complete.

    i could not do this before, it would always select the 1st or 3rd suggestion whenever i touched the 2nd. the browser seems much more stable and even a little faster.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  17. AlwayzRight

    AlwayzRight Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    92
    8
    16
    When i talk it doesnt hear any voice. Wtf
     
    AndroidMax likes this.
  18. AlwayzRight

    AlwayzRight Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    92
    8
    16
    We are getting the new sense on the ninth?
     
  19. jaydubb

    jaydubb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I thought the exact same thing when I tried it...
     
  20. vgsantiago

    vgsantiago Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    196
    21
    38
    Was the phone idle mostly? I'm unfortunately not seeing the improved battery life most are seeing. Full charge overnight and went down to 65% in about 2 1/2 hours this morning. Played music while using Google NAV for about a 20min. trip. a couple of calls etc.. I pulled the battery and will retry.
     
  21. Catman51

    Catman51 Newbie
    Rank:
     #874
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    18
    2
    36
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    I really can't believe BSOD. If they are pushing this update on Monday, why would they push the next one 3 days later with no announcement? Sorry, but don't get your hopes up.
     
  22. Essex

    Essex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    269
    61
    53
    Washington, D.C.
    One thing I've noticed is that my games don't seem to lag as much. Not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but it is nice to play 9 Innings: Pro Baseball 2011 sans lag...
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  23. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    I get this too -- the HTC home screen seems to crash or get kicked out of memory a lot more now.
     
  24. BeTrue

    BeTrue Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    26
    4
    16
    Kendallville, Indiana

    I get similar problems when closing apps, sometimes I get a blank homescreen with 'loading...' - and sometimes I get the white boot screen with the green 'htc' - either way my homescreen loads after a delay. Very annoying, hope they fix this soon.
     
  25. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    This was the case for me last night, but for whatever reason it's working today. Maybe try a reboot?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...