1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gingerbread impressions/tips/problems NON ROOTED STOCK ONLY

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ndh777, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. Crodley

    Crodley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    342
    67
    53
    It's there, but we can't see it with our new update because it doesn't officially support gingerbread. A thread over on XDA had a link to the apk, but I can't recall where, sorry.
     

    Advertisement

    marctronixx and mclovin288 like this.
  2. EVU

    EVU Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    216
    47
    63
    2 things I've noticed on mine & may be applicable to you:

    1) Did you leave enabled data on all the time before?
    *** Post update, it turned mine back on. So check there

    2) Are you using any battery manager like Green Power?
    *** I know my GP broke since the GB update because it activates 3G data even when screen is locked - not the way it's suppose to be.
    Locked mean 3G off - unlock means 3G on.
     
  3. cuellarm

    cuellarm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    30
    7
    16
    Houston, TX
    I have seen amazing improvements in battery life when idle. Right now mine has been on battery for 1 day, 13 hours and 42 minutes with light to moderate use, and still 39% left. Stock and original battery. Evo from launch day.

    Right now my only issue is that of the icons inside folders turning generic. Very smooth and fast otherwise. Happy camper!
     
    drexappeal likes this.
  4. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,905
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,905
    963
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    My battery life is crazy good now. Went to bed with 58% battery, got up 9 hours later and I was at 55% battery. I can live with the other little bugs.
     
    drexappeal likes this.
  5. frankiepapa

    frankiepapa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    98
    4
    16
    thanks for the info, this most likely includes the "wimax notifier" as well!!
     
  6. Essex

    Essex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    268
    61
    53
    Washington, D.C.
    Just wanted to jump on the voicemail notifications bandwagon. I keep getting notified of voicemails (1 or 2 times daily) via the notification icon. I've cleared out both voicemail boxes (phone and visual voicemail) but my phone keeps insisting that a voicemail is awaiting my attention. The only solution that seems to (temporarily) work is manually clearing the notification icon in "Call" settings. It's annoying and I hope Sprint/HTC resolves this issue.

    Other than that, my phone is noticeably faster at launching and exiting apps. My games run more smoothly. The subtle browser enhancements are much appreciated. Fortunately, I haven't experienced any major issues other than the voicemail notification icon.

    I'm pleased, but ironically, this update has further reinforced my desire to move away from OEM-skinned devices towards the Nexus line. 2.3.3 is nice but I really wanted 2.3.4 so that I could finally use the Google Talk video chat. Ahh well, can't have it all right?
     
  7. Jacobsdad

    Jacobsdad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    Physical Therapist
    Teaneck, NJ
    I've tried to manually update and it keeps on "checking". Did anyone else have this problem? Is there something else I should tryto do? I'm on 3G- WIFI is off. I have 80% battery. Any thoughts? Thanks!
     
  8. AndroidMax

    AndroidMax Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    304
    60
    53
    Male
    While this does fix the Google Voice Search when you press and hold the magnify lens touch key on the bottom right of the EVO, it does not fix speech to text when you press the microphone icon in text messaging, websearch, gmail etc... weird....
     
  9. jshurak

    jshurak Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I'm having issues with this too
     
  10. AndroidMax

    AndroidMax Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    304
    60
    53
    Male
    I had to check to make sure I had free space, move a few apps to the SD card, power down, pull the battery, power up, and then it worked....
     
  11. EVU

    EVU Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    216
    47
    63
    I actually made sure to test that when I first got the one anomaly I mentioned above.

    I verified with the microphone icon next to the web search box up top right AND the microphone icon on the pop-up keyboard.

    All three worked: 2 microphone icons & the magnifying glass key

    My only advice is to uncheck & recheck the option setting for voice recognition & rebooting (I also did slow reboot not fast reboot).
     
  12. ttugrad95

    ttugrad95 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    3
    2
    6
    The update has completely jacked up my phone. Its not any faster, I haven't noticed improvement in battery life but have noticed an increase in charging time. Since the upgrade:
    About 50% of incoming voice calls are so garbled I can't understand what the caller is saying, but they can apparently understand me. I have to hang up and call them back.
    Sometime when exiting an app I get a white screen that says HTC while the screen refreshes...very annoying
    When taking a picture with a flash the flash timing appears to be off from the shutter so the photo does not benefit from the flash's lighting.
    Sometimes when a call is coming in the screen doesn't respond when I try to answer. Sometimes it will start responding before the call goes to VM, sometimes it doesn't.
    There have been a bunch of other random annoyances now when I use the caller ID for rocket dial it no longer replaces the stock answer screen so I have to answer the call twice.
     
  13. firechicken

    firechicken Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    34
    3
    16
    This happened to me on the last update. I had to to do a factory reset to get the update. menu>settings>sd&phonestorage>factory data reset. Make sure you back up contacts and apps.

    Hope this helps

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-sup...48-no-3-70-651-1-maintence-update-yet-me.html
     
    EarlyMon and Jacobsdad like this.
  14. xchapman

    xchapman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Since I installed Gingerbread on my Sprint HTC EVO Shoot Me is not functional. Is there another similar app that still works and will permit me to capture screen shots?
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    There are host of ills that occur when the parts of the Dalvik Virtual Machine gets stale bits between updates.

    This is a problem with all Android phones, and they need to fix the update process.

    Meanwhile - this is likely to cure most or all of the problems you're seeing -

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-sup...how-fix-froyo-gingerbread-any-rom-update.html
     
  16. Jacobsdad

    Jacobsdad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    Physical Therapist
    Teaneck, NJ
    Maybe I'll wait! Yikes!
    I appreciate the recommendation Firechicken. Many thanks!
     
  17. cincylaw

    cincylaw Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    Attorney
    Peoria, IL
    Since GB update, my battery life seems worse. Much worse, and I don't think it is just because I'm running updates to apps and that sort of thing.

    Also, it screwed up several of my contacts. For example, it shows a friend's FB image but has the wrong name. The wrong named person now shows up twice--once as the right person, and once as the wrong.

    Another issue--I use Winamp as my music player. I also have Doubletwist mostly for converting videos when I download them from my PC. When I am in my car and use Bluetooth radio, they both start playing music, when before, only my Winamp would play when connected. Is there somewhere you set the preferred/default music player?

    I had the same issues with Handcent and notifications, and the generic Android image showing up for apps but I just deleted them off of my home screens and replaced them again.

    Hope a supplemental update will fix this minor stuff.
     
  18. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    I can use my bluetooth controls on my headset just fine with the Mixxing player.
     
  19. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,905
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,905
    963
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    I can't be sure but... were you using Facebook Contact sync via the App and not via Sense? if so Gingerbread removed the ability for Facebook app to sync contacts with Android contacts, something to do with Facebook not allowing contacts to be saved to a csv or something like that. Thsi could have screwed up your contacts when they turned this off. Sense syncing still works though.
     
  20. r8r.rich

    r8r.rich Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I cant
     
  21. drummer1422

    drummer1422 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    Las Vegas
    Now when I type in a name of a band, and hit play I get MEXICAN Videos...Problem is Im typing in American Rock Bands...Anyone know of a GREAT Music Video App that may work with this 2.3? Thanks Liking JetVD, but its having problems now too...
     
  22. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,624
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,624
    4,356
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    All,

    netflix has issues with 2.3 this has been discussed many times in this thread. follow netflix tweets for the updates or watch the netflix thread on this forum.

    the netflix app has been pulled due to issues. you can also search this thread (there is a handy search feature top right) for any other discussions.
    I just dont want you folks to think no one is listening to you.. :)


     
    avid3d likes this.
  23. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    Updated, did a hard reset and everything's working great!! Battery life has improved drastically and phone is overall very snappy!!

    No issues with calls or RF!

    So far so good!
     
  24. stl-steelers

    stl-steelers Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    ================================

    I noticed in settings > about phone > hardware information: wifi is labeled as 802.11 b/g. I dont remember if it should up as N in froyo.
     
  25. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    536
    54
    98
    socal
    yahoo video chat is messed up after the GB update. no support for front cam and seems very buggy on the rear cam. :(
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...