1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gingerbread impressions/tips/problems NON ROOTED STOCK ONLY

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ndh777, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. kchitown1977

    kchitown1977 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    43
    2
    16
    Any one having issue with phone constantly rebooting. Really annoying especially when in middle of a game
     

    Advertisement

  2. kchitown1977

    kchitown1977 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    43
    2
    16
    Checking firmware update keep receiving smithmicro process error has stopped working
     
  3. SJC

    SJC Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5
  4. KenjiSpencer

    KenjiSpencer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    78
    24
    28
    Have you tried using the GPS widget (available under the Settings widgets)?
     
  5. KenjiSpencer

    KenjiSpencer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    78
    24
    28
    My screen is sometimes dimmer than normal the first time I turn my phone for the day, but if I let the phone go to sleep, the screen has normal brightness the next time I wake the phone up. Make sure that your display brightness hasn't been changed to a dim level. The Gingerbread update undid my "automatic display brightness" setting, so my display was dimmer than before the update until I discovered and undid the change.
     
  6. EVOeli

    EVOeli Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    29
    1
    36
    Any word on the update coming this Thursday? 2.3.4?
     
  7. garrisonboy

    garrisonboy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I just had Sprint replace my evo and they updated to the new software. Now I can't even find the Netflix app in teh catalog.
     
  8. Linx

    Linx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    151
    7
    36
    After factory resetting my phone several times while I had Froyo, I finally got my Evo to get around 12-14 hours of baterry life on one charge. This is with minimal use. After this Gingerbread update my battery life is back to terrible. I thought a hard reset was removing your battery for a few minutes, then restarting. I'm guessing I'm wrong. How do I do a hard reset? I'm hoping this will fix my battery issue. Do I need to back up anything when doing it?
     
  9. guycan

    guycan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    has anyone notice the call log has also change from detail time the call was place and the min used for that call to just the time the call was placed
     
  10. UniR

    UniR Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    15
    3
    16
    The Elixir widget as well as my EasyProfiles are both unable to merely turn it off and on now with the GB upgrade.
     
  11. XOS THW

    XOS THW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    120
    12
    38
    Chicagoland
    I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, my battery life since Sunday has been TERRIBLE! It use to be decent.
     
  12. vailpass

    vailpass Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    217
    76
    73
    Gettin' My Mind Right
    Search is your friend.

    Go here:

     
  13. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,775
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,775
    1,284
    323
    I'm really bummed that GingerBread took away the connect to the internet shortcut found when you long press the power button. It was so much easier than going through all the menus and didn't clutter up the home screen with unnecessary widgets. My hope was that they would have added a shortcut for turning on 4G under the power button as well. Instead they removed that functionality all together. :(

    I haven't seen anyone else mention it. Anyone else with me on this one or am I alone?
     
  14. amabyam

    amabyam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Texas
    I wish I had read more forums before I updated my phone (EVO). yesterday, I regret it so bad. Can I uninstall and have everything back to previous update?
    My phone is much slower responding and constantly shows I have a missed call reminder when I don't. My email notifications will linger long after I have already checked them. The screen gets blurry when thumbing through screens, and my apps all take much longer to load now. I also am VERY upset that when I'm in swype typing, when I can usually double tap a word to get the right suggestions to pop up, I can only have the "copy paste" menu pop up. (Does anyone know how to fix that?).
    Numberous other complaints, things that are annoying (like whats the deal with the clock constantly clicking over from the an hour before every single time to go to home screen???). Drives me crazy. (Can I stop that??). Lots of other stupid things too.

    So again (thanks for letting me vent), I'm so upset about this, my EVO ran perfect and I was one who never had a complaint and bragged on it so much, now I'm like everyother crap phone.
    PLEASE HELP
     
  15. skullshank

    skullshank Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    83
    6
    36
    graphic/web designer
    NH
    it's been pulled until they fix the 2.3.3 issue.
     
  16. KenjiSpencer

    KenjiSpencer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    78
    24
    28
    Put the cursor into the word you want to change and tap the Swype key (I asked the same question earlier in this thread).
     
    amabyam likes this.
  17. amabyam

    amabyam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Texas

    Yes, my EVO reboots a couple times a day now. It use to reboot maybe once in 3 months!! Unless of course I was doing it manually.
     
  18. geeingu

    geeingu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    77
    6
    16
    In need of the voice mail icon keep popping up and the Gps toggle is hit or miss
     
  19. amabyam

    amabyam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Texas

    Again on the clock issue. It always shows the time as an hour before the correct time, then it flips over to the correct time everytime I go to home screen. Does someone have a fix for that?
     
  20. Catman51

    Catman51 Newbie
    Rank:
     #351
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    19
    3
    36
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    We'll have to wait and see, but with nothing out there I kinda doubt it.
     
  21. skullshank

    skullshank Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    83
    6
    36
    graphic/web designer
    NH

    mine starting doing that too...even before the update. fine since november, then bam...random reboots :thinking:
     
  22. Rpatel602

    Rpatel602 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5
  23. MachineGunnWilly

    MachineGunnWilly Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    140
    12
    38
    I'm having the same exact issue...tried actually dialing voicemail and using the app version...nothing...even when all deleted it's still in the status bar, powered down, pulled battery and still NOTHING!!! IT'S DRIVING ME CRAZY!!!
     
  24. MAKOKILLER

    MAKOKILLER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    148
    14
    38
    WATKINS GLEN, NY
    Guess I will wait for the next update, as this one sounds like just too many problems....
     
  25. mlb

    mlb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    72
    30
    23
    Central Fl
    I noticed this today at work, exact same deal. Before the update I always had 3-4 bars now 1-2
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...