1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gingerbread impressions/tips/problems NON ROOTED STOCK ONLY

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ndh777, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. Halfbaked

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    172
    45
    43
    No problems here. I assume its because I have nothing but quality coded apps on my phone. Handcent is causing problems for some people, an app I don't have. Then I think somevpeople downloaded the update via 3G, which isn't a good idea. I always update via wifi if possible.

    I told my friend about the update today and I texted her through thr process. She isnt having any problems either.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Evo_Savant

    Evo_Savant Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Accounting
    Phoenix, AZ
    Hey guys, didn't see a response to this so I'm chipping in... The settings for the RSTP/HTTP proxy and port are there. Advanced--> Scroll all the way down--> RTSP/HTTP Setting.

    Also, I zeroed out the RTSP proxy address and port today, I noticed a bit of a difference while running Pandora. Although probably unrelated to the change in settings, one of the major things I noticed was that if I opened Pandora and left it open and didn't go back to my home screen it played just fine, it also worked fine if I opened it and hit the lock screen button. When I opened it and went back to my home screen or anywhere other than Pandora itself, it would pause/delay loading the next song until I clicked back on it. Which leads me to believe the app is having issues running in the background ? idk, might a dev question/issue. Anywho, hope this helps. :)
     
  3. Halfbaked

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    172
    45
    43
    If you are encountering problems with certain apps from the Market and Gingerbread just uninstall the app, then reinstall the app.
     
  4. sleepy3103

    sleepy3103 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    36
    7
    16
    Ok, so I got some time to do my factory reset.

    Saved all my pics and shnit from the sd card to my pc. Then formatted the sd, just to be safe.

    Did my factory reset. Resynced with google. Added my pics and shnit back to the sd. redownloaded all my apps one by one, excluding some i never used.

    The good:
    - The old evo is running faster than ever. It scrolls and slides screans much faster and smoother.
    - The battery is lasting around 4 or 5 hours more with the same sort of use as normal.
    - Seems like less apps running all the time in running apps. more ram available.
    - I only left out about ten apps, none being that large and most being movable to the sd. Now with everything installed and going it has about 250mb of internal storage left rather than 70 to 80mb. hmm??
    - It start up faster from power on then it ever did. went from 3 to 4 mins to 1.5 to 2. This is not using the fast boot either, thats like 45 seconds.
    - everything just seems to load faster and smoother.

    The bad:
    - still getting no icon in folders on the apps that are on my sd card as before the factory reset. (they are the generic android icon) switching to a different scene then back fixes them.
    - A few apps I really like(juice defender, tubemate, mp3music download, music wizard) are now not compatible and don't show in the market. On the web market it shows them but says they are incompatible.
    - the gps notification still acts up.

    Other than that, the EVO is working great! These are minor annoyances compared to the benefits so far. Hope they fix these issues soon so it can be working Awesome.
     
  5. STEVEN-H

    STEVEN-H Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    58
    31
    23
    Louisville, KY
    My Evo was acting strange after downloading update last Saturday. I removed the SD card and did a hard reset. Downloaded apps again from both Goggle and Amazon. After playing plants an zombies for some time my phone became very unresponsive so I had to pull the battery. After letting it sit for 5 min. or Sim I put the battery back in and turned it on. It would get the the animation ands show the 4G logo and then reboot. This happened an number of times. Pulled the battery again waited and same thing. Held volume button in and turned on and got the the options menu. Don not recall which option I chose but, it rebooted and the Logo for reinstalling software appeared. After a while an outline of a phone appeared with a red x. I pulled power and restarted and now it is working. I called Spring and the guy said he had about ten calls with problems from the Gingerbread update and if I had a problem again he would issue a ticket to take my unit to the Sprint store where they would either reinstall Gingerbread or roll it back.

    Started getting a warning the the QR code generator had a problem and was shutting down. Removed it and the EVO seems fine now. It was a Free QR generator.
     
  6. Gekko

    Gekko Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    893
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    893
    320
    113
    USA
    also maybe turn off fast boot.
     
  7. higgins14

    higgins14 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    when i checked my phone this morning, my homescreens were all showing in landscape when i would rotate my phone. this lasted for a while and now is not working.

    i was under the impression that this was one of the gingerbread features that was not available with out 2.3.3 update. is this working for anyone else?
     
  8. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    I was wondering the same thing in my earlier post...
    http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g...lems-non-rooted-stock-only-8.html#post2788226
    "I was thinking about doing it because I thought that this update might have included some of the updates (like telenav, current version of flash, current version of Qik) in the update itself, so those would go to the ROM and it wouldn't take up my available storage with those updates (some of these updates like Telenav, flash are almost 10MB each)."

    I hadn't done the hard reset yet (primarily because I am not having any significant issues with the 2.3.3 update - yet, and I didn't want to lose my game progress, and I didn't know if the storage used would actually go down). Now, I might actually do the hard reset and reinstall... wish there was a way to save the game progress - but oh well...
     
  9. Gary Friderichsohn

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    38
    5
    16
    Horticulture
    Horse Heaven Hills
    +1
     
  10. Riz11

    Riz11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    reboot phone then go into settings and update PRL, this should allow you to redownload HTC update,
     
  11. vgsantiago

    vgsantiago Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    196
    21
    38
    I think I'm also going to break down and do the hard reset also. Everything works great but not getting the great battery life others are bragging about. this thread is supposed to be for NON-ROOTED users only so I hope I'm getting accurate feedback.

    Couple of questions to the 'Evo forum gods', but first a statement:

    I'm running stock (non-rooted) and would love to keep all my settings.

    Q1. Should I download Titanium Pro to keep my settings?
    Q2. Downloaded free Apps from Amazon, will I be able to re-install those apps since I got them during the 'Free App of the Day' download?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  12. derek32303

    derek32303 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    anyone else hdmi not working?????? can't watch my videos or see my pictures on tv anymore????
     
  13. MBM7881

    MBM7881 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    197
    11
    58
    Stay at Home Mom (for now :) )
    Fort Hood, TX
    if i move some of my apps to the sd card will they launch from there or will i have problems using them from the sd card? i know while some apps can be moved to the sd card they have problems working from there. if i can move and launch them from the sd card i'll definitely start moving some apps to free up some space although i have 201mb free. also what is that new app in the drawer the downloads app? also i wonder how long it'll take before we can root our phones....
     
  14. STEVEN-H

    STEVEN-H Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    58
    31
    23
    Louisville, KY

    Mine is not working either since Gingerbread.:(
     
  15. joehornback

    joehornback Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    162
    12
    38
    Buyer for Flanders Precisionaire
    OK
    I think Titanium is for rooted users only, I may be wrong there...
    Answer: Yes, I did a factory reset before the update and had several apps I had d/led as free app of the day. All you'll need to do is download the amazon app store again. When you sign in under your account, it will have those apps that you had previously d/led under your apps. You can d/l them again at no charge because you had already 'paid' for them under your account!
     
    vgsantiago likes this.
  16. Gary Friderichsohn

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    38
    5
    16
    Horticulture
    Horse Heaven Hills
    I have never had trouble opening from mSD card.
     
  17. dominicanyor

    dominicanyor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    321
    3
    56
    Jacksonville fl
    so that means if i do a factory reset it will erase everything that i have on my phone??
     
  18. amabyam

    amabyam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Texas
    My HDMI is not working either.
     
  19. aeiou

    aeiou Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    212
    19
    38

    ......................
     
  20. robjulo

    robjulo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    30
    5
    16

    The issue is background noise. Ie if you try and use it at highway speeds, it doesn't work.

    Has anyone successfully done a factory reset and was then able to get voice search to work when driving at highway speeds or with other background noise?
     
  21. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    346
    85
    53
    Damn. I am definitely waiting to update now. HDMI is one of my favorite apps.
     
  22. speedfan

    speedfan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    96
    26
    23
    Nashville, TN
    everything that isn't on your sd card will be, I sync'd my apps to app brain to make sure I had a copy of all the apps I had before. I do know it seems like a lot of work to get your settings back, but it fixed my problem and I went from losing 40% of my battery with no use in about 2 and a half hours to now getting nearly 2 days worth of battery life, it is an amazing difference.
     
  23. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    You want to think about buying Mybackup Pro from the Market. It works great. It will restore all your apps, contacts, texts, and even your bookmarks.
     
  24. mattkilla420

    mattkilla420 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    32
    0
    35
    +camera shutter is alot faster,
    +new copy/paste is better,
    +magnifier in finder is what i have been waiting for and was a surprise finally!
    +smoother all around

    using launcher pro and juice defender, battery still the same for me
     
  25. 300Bowler

    300Bowler Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    53
    4
    16
    Anyone have a problem with their SD Card after the update. I have started and restarted my EVO and it will not recognize my SD Card.

    Any suggestions?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...