1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gingerbread impressions/tips/problems NON ROOTED STOCK ONLY

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ndh777, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. outlawclogger

    outlawclogger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Shoot me app will no longer work and I can not get the voicemail icon to go away......:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. unplugged1

    unplugged1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    612
    228
    93
    Irvine, CA
    After the update, I can't connect with my Wi-Fi. It goes into an endless loop of connecting and then disconnecting. I tried the restart routine, taking the battery out, etc.

    Any ideas? I'm going to call tech support and see if they can help me. (Not holding my breath on that one. The first thing they always want to do is to reset the phone and I get to lose all my applications and settings.)
     
  3. benchsitter21

    benchsitter21 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    I noticed the browser is different in the upgrade. However it apears the zoom issue is still present. When you are default zoomed out on a page and want to zoom in the browser auto adjusts the screen and places you in a different location than where u intended to be zoomed In on. Has anyone found a setting or fix for this with gingerbread ?
     
  4. mlb

    mlb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    72
    30
    23
    Central Fl

    I have same problem, says I have 6 voicemails when I have none.
     
  5. Kamen

    Kamen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    4
    8
    6
    Again as stated before go to Settings > Call > Clear Voicemail Notification to fix this.
     
    Manac69, mlb, skipbrown and 1 other person like this.
  6. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    Unplug your wireless router for a minute or so and plug back in and try again?

    I had no WiFi issues after update.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  7. BeerPimp

    BeerPimp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    84
    19
    18
    Like said before most of the update is under the hood. For the people that use the tunein app it does not bog your phone down like it used to. Before if I had it minimized so it was just in the info bar and got a text message it slowed the phone down horribly. I would have to force close it sometimes. Now it seems fairly smooth.
     
  8. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    425
    58
    53
    Just updated. I notice it shows grey bars for 4g and white for reception.

    Besides that it force closes the stock android keyboard OVER AND OVER!!! ugggh. Phone is unusable since it pops up the force close box every second.

    It says android.keyboard.latin which is weird as well. I am restarting and hoping this goes away asap.
     
  9. unplugged1

    unplugged1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    612
    228
    93
    Irvine, CA
    It wouldn't make any difference. It's not that it won't connect to the particular router. It just won't turn on the Wi-Fi. It starts up and then it disconnects whether there is a Wi-Fi access point or not. It continues to do this until the Wi-Fi is turned off.
     
  10. MyFishWagon

    MyFishWagon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    THIS.

    It drives me nuts :thinking:
     
  11. dan487

    dan487 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    6
    0
    25

    The TV animation is for rooted users who have downloaded an aftermarket ROM called CyanogenMod.
     
  12. sanity29

    sanity29 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    102
    20
    38
    Male
    Phoenix, AZ
    Did this update not include the video chat through google talk? If so, how do I access it? If not, that sucks, but no big deal. Was just looking forward to it.
     
  13. anleva

    anleva Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Tell me more about "SIP based Internet calling". I'm interested in making calls over WiFi on an upcoming international trip. How can I use this new feature to do that? Any recommendations?

    Thanks
     
  14. MAKOKILLER

    MAKOKILLER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    148
    14
    38
    WATKINS GLEN, NY
    So is it worth updating?
     
  15. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    425
    58
    53
    I have no andorid stock keyboard anymore. This sucks. I am about ready to learn how to root because I want to throw this phone through a window. garbage update..I have lost faith in this OS to be honest.
     
  16. alextop30

    alextop30 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    798
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    798
    123
    93
    Male
    security and surveillance and finance
    Windy City of Chicago
    not a major update in any way but OS looks snappier. I do not understand why my notifications bar did not change colors as demonstrated in other videos. I hope as I use it more I find out that the messages problem is resolved so I do not have to explain myself to my friends parents and other people for sending them the wrong messages.

    Trust me it was starting to get awkward now a days :)
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  17. Rathamar

    Rathamar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    94
    29
    23
    IT Professional
    MN
    In my opinion, no. With Netflix not working, no real cool features, no sense update, and the cool features of Gingerbread left out, I will be skipping this. If I feel the need to update, I will root and see what new cool ROMS are built off of this build.
     
    toomuchgame441 and MAKOKILLER like this.
  18. TrebleStauter

    TrebleStauter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    24
    3
    16
    I had this exact problem. I had to choose a different keyboard, then uninstall the 2.3 one. I could not find a way to continue using it without the force close. Ugh
     
  19. Rathamar

    Rathamar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    94
    29
    23
    IT Professional
    MN
    I never experienced this issue - was it with the stock messenger app only? I have always used handcent.
     
  20. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    425
    58
    53
    It seems so small, but the keyboard for me is everything. Swype sucks super hard as well now with the pop ups..etc. I went to the stock keyboard, the mic worked perfect for voice to text, and the word prediction was killer..now it is gone.

    Android OS sucks..why? they have no idea how to make things easy. I have been using Ios on an ipad and it is so far superior that I will never buy an android product again. Ios is amazing on battery life, the stock keyboard doesn't blow, and it is far faster. I was anti apple forever, but this lame phone OS has shown me the light.
     
  21. alextop30

    alextop30 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    798
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    798
    123
    93
    Male
    security and surveillance and finance
    Windy City of Chicago
    Yea I have been using the stock app because I have no idea how to turn off the notification of the stock app to use handcent.

    Also my phone had the ability to call people which I did not want - lets say I would want to call my brother and instead it will call a random person from my contact list even though I did press on my brother's phone number. Just weird!!!
     
  22. Rube8514

    Rube8514 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    231
    17
    38
    Indiana


    Messages-settings-unclick notifications
     
  23. TrebleStauter

    TrebleStauter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    24
    3
    16

    I just installed this one for free. It will work for now, but I hope to be able to go back to the stock one soon.

    http://tinyurl.com/3h8zdns
     
    JunBringer, OlegNYR and i.have.droid like this.
  24. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    425
    58
    53
    yes..you rule for this. I still am going to root..my phone battery lasts maybe half a day.
     
  25. wodin

    wodin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    152
    12
    38
    IT Project Manager
    Sandwich Isles
    It killed my SD card! All I get is an icon of an SD card with a "?" in it, then when I select it in the drawer it wants to format it. I took out battery and re-seat the card, but still no joy.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...