1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Gingerbread impressions/tips/problems NON ROOTED STOCK ONLY

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ndh777, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. Echo Baby

    Echo Baby Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    6
    3
    6
    NYC

    I'm not sure if there's a fix for this issue. I've checked other forums and so far I haven't seen any solutions. I undrstnd getting used to smthng n now it's gone. Have you or anyone else reading this know if anyone has done a factory reset b4 updating to the latest OTA update? I'm just curious. I've mentioned this here b4 and in two other forums, that some of our fellow EVO friends did a factory reset b4 updating and experienced no issues. Lol, I'm just being cautious b4 I do this latest update cause it's annoying to have a device that has so many interesting functions and end up with some suck ass issues. To every1 here having issues, I hope they get resolved soon:(. If I come across any advice that my help you guys as well as myself, I will definitley share it.:)
     

    Advertisement

    nomunk and BiohazardVideo like this.
  2. StringerBellRinger

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I was having the same problem, went to menu> settings> applications> manage applications> all> swype> clear data


    After that it was ok.
     
    BiohazardVideo likes this.
  3. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    nomunk likes this.
  4. vailpass

    vailpass Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    217
    76
    73
    Gettin' My Mind Right
    Thanks much. Mine went away after I powered down all the way then back up again. Weird.
    Other than that my EVO is humming along very nicely now, no problems and noticeably faster. Of course I don't use wireless N much.
     
  5. NSAgent

    NSAgent Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    12
    7
    16
    I've read a good bit of this thread and it seems all these issues are happening to people who already had an EVO and updated to 2.3 I just got mine today and it came with gingerbread as I've experienced no problems
     
  6. BiohazardVideo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    63
    10
    18
    Freelance Audio/Video & Computer Tech
    Sin City
    I am sooooooo grateful for this forum. I'm picking up an Evo for both the wife and I on the first. Were it not for everyone here posting all the bs that this update is causing I would have blindly jumped right in and updated. I know it's of no comfort to those with this worthless update, but you have my gratitude. Isn't their a stock rom available for the brave ones that trusted Stumble, I mean Sprint?
     
  7. kchitown1977

    kchitown1977 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    43
    2
    16
    I just noticed when downloading updates it takes forever for the update to update and install
     
  8. BiohazardVideo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    63
    10
    18
    Freelance Audio/Video & Computer Tech
    Sin City
    I've checked a few more Android forums and found out that the Evo's in stores now have 2.3.3 already installed.

    1) Is it without any of the FU's on the updates?
    2) Can I instal a 2.2 rom without going insane?

    I've heard cries for downgrade options from Stumble... there I go again... Sprint.... I downloaded a few 2.2 roms from xda, I'm just waiting to get them to give em a shot.

    I'll also be modding not just my wife's and my phone, but also my bro-in-law and his wife's phone...
     
  9. kchitown1977

    kchitown1977 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    43
    2
    16
    Still no voice to text And seems like issue only with evo 4g . Closing all apps now makes sense reload white htc screen tried everything. Is htc really paying attention to user issues been almost 2 weeks and no acknowledgement that anything is in the works. And seems like issue only with evo 4g
     
  10. aeiou

    aeiou Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    212
    19
    38
    I've been screaming about this for a couple weeks now. Still no fix.
     
  11. sleepymama

    sleepymama Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    22
    6
    16
    MN
    have you guys tried doing a factory reset? i know it sucks and can be a lot of work replacing everything that gets wiped out, but i did a factory reset before and after the update and have had no problems with sense reloading. everything is working fast and smooth.
     
  12. drexappeal

    drexappeal Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Closing all apps? Like through a task manager or killer?
     
  13. BeTrue

    BeTrue Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    26
    4
    16
    Kendallville, Indiana

    "Closing apps" - as in the normal exit of using the back button.

    I did do a factory reset. Wiped all user data. Had to find and redownload all apps from Android market.

    I STILL get sense reloading: white screen with green htc. I also get home screen loading... Waiting for icons to return.
     
    drexappeal likes this.
  14. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    536
    54
    98
    socal
    +1
     
  15. drexappeal

    drexappeal Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Oh, okay. Thanks for clarifying. Sorry to hear people experiencing this. So strange because I used to get that re-draw a while back when the first Froyo update came out. After a 2nd update came out, my phone was fine and haven't experienced this in a long time.
     
  16. vailpass

    vailpass Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    217
    76
    73
    Gettin' My Mind Right
    Your phones will come with the update installed.
     
  17. nootrope

    nootrope Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    2nd day into my EVO 4G's upgrade to Gingerbread. Besides the previously mentioned lack of duration in the call log, I'm upset that the stock ringtones are now without the only bearable one: Alpha. :( All the others are obnoxious to me. Anyone know how I can get Alpha back? It's been replaced by one called Aqua. I know I can make/download/buy other ringtones, root my ROM, etc. I just think Alpha was just about perfect for me.

    Thanks for any ideas!
     
  18. wolf_walker

    wolf_walker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    134
    16
    38
    Male
    I discovered today GB, or the post update to it, has mucked the camera up pretty good. Clearing cam app data and even the full reset had no effect on it, there are two other posts on the troubleshooting page with the same issue.

    One is outright freezing and rebooting the damn phone, which is pretty annoying, the 2nd is the flash timing is off in a fairly dark room, the flash fires, visibly, a moment before the photo is taken, so it's pitch dark. It does both of these consistantly. I'm rapidly becoming disillusioned. :(
     
  19. higgins14

    higgins14 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    I am also having issues with the camera. After taking pics occasionally my phone will restart. I'm also having really poor battery life. Hopefully a hard reset will fix these issues
     
  20. wolf_walker

    wolf_walker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    134
    16
    38
    Male
    Didn't with mine, cleared the cam app cache and then reset once I was sure it was a repeatable issue, no good. Only hope I got left is that it's the sd card, going to replace/upgrade since I wanted to anyway before I bug sprint about it.
     
  21. Uglytuc

    Uglytuc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    28
    2
    16
    I discovered while on vacation this week that the camera is also screwed up. Flash timing was off and then just completely stopped working. I still have the Sense constantly crashing. Horrible horrible update.
     
  22. Twistax

    Twistax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    111
    14
    38

    Go in to your Applications Manager, find the Camera app, click it. Click Clear Data and Cache.

    Same thing happen to mine and i did this... its back to normal
     
  23. Uglytuc

    Uglytuc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    28
    2
    16
    Thanks, I'll try that.
     
  24. wolf_walker

    wolf_walker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    134
    16
    38
    Male
    Did that first off, and a full reset, and a full reset with formating the SD card, no go. The flash being off is laughable, if I hadn't just paid a bunch of money for this thing...
     
  25. Uglytuc

    Uglytuc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    28
    2
    16
    Not only is this update garbage, it's absolutely pathetic we can't get back to Froyo.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...