1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Gingerbread update causing constant reboots...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jimweda, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. jimweda

    jimweda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    144
    3
    36
    Is anyone else having problems with the phone staying on after the Gingerbread update? I am on a stock Epic 4G and manually updated Gingerbread following the instructions and since then my phone will go into a reboot cycle for some reason. Sometimes if I hit the slider while its going through the boot process it will stop the cycling. At first the update seemed to make the phone function faster but on my second day of using it the phone seems to be running slower like there are background apps running or something. I've checked to see if anything is running but nothing outside of the norm is running.

    I'd like to know what others experiences are that have updated or had the update sent OTA that is not on a rooted phone. If this continues is there a way to go back to Froyo or would I have to be able to root my phone which I am not able to do. This is the reason I've been waiting for the udpate. I don't have a working PC so I can try to root my phone. I have a desktop PC but it had crashed and I don't have Windows Vista to run the machine so it just sits on the desk and I haven't seen any good ways to root with a Mac. Any info would be appreciated.

    Jim
     

    Advertisement

  2. lomerson2

    lomerson2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    jimweda,

    I got the push update last night and am stuck in the same cycle, except I have found no way to break out of it so my phone is unusable. Did you ever find a solution? I would take mine to Sprint but my car is out of commission for awhile...argh!

    Rick
     
  3. jimweda

    jimweda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    144
    3
    36
    Try taking out your SD card and boot it without it inserted. Let me know if that works. It seems to work better with the SD Card for some reason. I just want to know if my phone is just being an SD card hater. Mine will stop rebooting after a very long wait and I mean hours then it would work. I have noticed in some apps it will freeze and this why I would have to shut down and reboot the phone and go through that never ending cycle again. I hate Sprint and Samsung. They turned my bad phone into a worthless phone.
     
  4. brooklyn360

    brooklyn360 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    taking the sd card did not work. any other suggestion?
     
  5. jimweda

    jimweda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    144
    3
    36
    Unfortunately I don't have any other solutions. I tried taking my SD card out again and it stopped rebooting. Problem is I have a lot of stuff on the card I need. I'm not really sure what would be causing it to do this unless its some file the update doesn't like.

    Have you tried just letting it reboot until it stops on its own? Believe me, I know what a pain it is to keep hearing it reboot but I've let it run its course until it finally stops. This is really upsetting that the update is causing some phones to go through this process. I'd rather go back to Froyo even though it did fix the SD card problem I had. What good is a phone if you can't use it because its rebooting all the time. I'm still playing around with mine to see if I can figure out what the problem is. Tech Supports answer is to always pull the battery or do a factory reset. That's never fixed any problems I had in the past so I'm not going that route just to find it still reboots. Keep me up to date if you find anything also.

    Jim
     
  6. brooklyn360

    brooklyn360 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I have been waiting for the device to stop rebootin for 2 hours now. it gives me the "S Galaxy " logo with colors, then "4g" logo from sprint and goes back to the "S"..
    Nothing has worked yet. Horrible!
     
  7. Korvas

    Korvas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I just joined this forum for this reason... I really hope there's a fix, I'll be watching this thread, glad to see I'm not alone in my problem...
     
  8. G3RARD17

    G3RARD17 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Same problem - 2 and a half hours of the Galaxy S screen and the animated 4G screen over and over again......
     
  9. Spyder3k

    Spyder3k Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same splash screen loop error. I had to do a factory reset on my Samsung Epic 4G. To do that I had to hold down the Vol Down button, the Camera Button and tap the power button. This got me into "Manual Mode". Then I clicked the volume up/down buttons in the menu until factory reset was highlighted, and I pressed the Home button, and Vol Up to confirm. Back at the original manual mode menu I selected reboot. My fone was factory reset but at least it is now on Gingerbread version. I'm very close to jailbreaking it though :mad:
     
  10. LGlikeYEE

    LGlikeYEE Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I got the push notification this morning and I pressed it. Now it just keeps rebooting, like everyone else's. I've tried doing the factory reset but it has not worked for me. I've also taken out my SD card to see if that works. Please post a solution soon!

    Thanks,

    LGlikeYEE
     
  11. Korvas

    Korvas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    So just an update for myself, and any one else in my shoes... I tried the factory reset that seemed to work... I took the batter out to stop the loop, then before turning it on I did the factory rest and got the screen to come up... I also did it with out my SD car in... not that I know that made a difference or not but wort ha try... thanks every one!
     
  12. LGlikeYEE

    LGlikeYEE Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Factory reset is not working for me, so I'm just going to go to the Sprint store. Hopefully they can just give me a brand new phone :p

    -LGlikeYEE
     
  13. secunn

    secunn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I'm also in the dreaded boot loop after allowing the upgrade. I have not done the factory reset yet because it doesn't sound like like is a definite fix. I let it do it's reboot routine all day yesterday while at work hoping it would work itself out but it didn't work. I read on a HTC thread that deleting "Advanced Task Killer" would solve their problem so I thought maybe that might work for the Epic. Still no go. I guess I'll try the factory reset now because the phone is useless the way it is now.
     
  14. jimweda

    jimweda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    144
    3
    36
    Unfortunately that was the only thing that fixed my phone. Now I have never rooted my phone so I don't know if that will help anyone who has rooted their phone. I do have to say that since I did a full factory reset 99% of the problems I was having before are now gone and the phone is not only stable but boots up faster, runs faster and works like a brand new phone should. It also fixed the annoying SD card apps/files not always showing up, random crashes, keyboard works much better and I am finally happy to own the Epic 4G since Aug 2011 when it was nothing but a huge headache on a daily basis.

    When I did the factory reset I took my SD card out of the phone first just to make sure nothing was deleted/erased or reformatted. Once it was up and running and was running stable I put the SD card back in and installed all the files and apps from my card to get it close to where it was prior to the update. Hopefully the others who are having issues will get theirs solved soon. I really like how well and fast Gingerbread seems to be on my phone.

    Maybe after I get too used to it and bored I will try and figure out how to root my phone, that's if I can finally find Window's System software for my dead HP Pavillion. This was the only reason I didn't root my phone. I only have a couple of working Mac's and rooting doesn't seem to be too Mac friendly.

    Jim
     

Share This Page

Loading...