1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Gingerbread update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by benwalburn, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. benwalburn

    benwalburn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    435
    68
    53
    Computer Repair
    I recently heard that gingerbread is hitting the epic, so i need to know how to return to stock without wiping. All i changed was the kernel and added su, of course. Is it possible to remove su and return to stock kernel without resetting everything?
     

    Advertisement

  2. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    Did you do a nandroid backup before flashing a new kernel? If so, then you could always revert, although you'd lose everything past that point.

    I don't know of any easy way, minus using ODIN to flash back to stock (but that doesn't mean there isn't a stock kernel out there).

    I would say just wait until the official GB update hits, and then look on XDA for a Stock GB ROM to update to. You will still, most likely, have to do a data wipe, but at least you could use Ti Backup or MyBackup Root to restore your information.
     
  3. nstg8r

    nstg8r Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    279
    20
    38
    NY
    I was under the impression that a nandroid backup doesn't backup the kernel, at least not under cw 2.5.
     
  4. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    A nandroid backup is an exact image of your phone at that time... So everything on your phone is backed up, including ROM, kernel, apps, texts, etc... So basically, if you get into trouble with flashing ROMs, kernels, etc, all you have to do is restore the backup. You'll be back to a fully functioning setup.
     
  5. Danny1st

    Danny1st Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    If I am rooted with super user and have the epic on stock, can I still update ota to GB?
     
  6. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    I think you would need to unroot in order to do the update... Also, if I remember correctly, you will need to have all stock apps as well.

    Someone correct me if I am mistaken...
     
  7. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi

    I believe all you need is all you stock apps. Either way there is always odin to go back to stock.
     
  8. Danny1st

    Danny1st Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    18
    0
    15

    I believe I have heard that before... But it's been a while. Thanks for the reminder! Looks like I'll have to odine.
     
  9. nstg8r

    nstg8r Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    279
    20
    38
    NY
    Even better question, will I be able to NOT update to GB when it comes out? When I had my Epic, the update to Froyo was forced and it screwed up my phone. Right now, I have my phone working exactly the way I want it and I don't want Sprint/Samsung screwing it up.
     
  10. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    Most of the ROMs should have updates disabled.
     
  11. nstg8r

    nstg8r Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    279
    20
    38
    NY
    not using a rom, just a rooted kernel (twilightzone)
     
  12. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    In that case, you have several options...

    1) Change the system/build.prop file so it shows the latest update information.
    2) Use Titanium Backup to freeze SystemUpdater.apk
    3) Or just uninstall the SystemUpdater.apk
    4) Flash the GB modem once it is available (may have to wipe the Dalvik cache)
     
  13. nstg8r

    nstg8r Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    279
    20
    38
    NY
    I'll choose option 2. Will that have any unintended consequences?
     
  14. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    I did some digging around, and it may or may not solve your problem. You may still get the update popup, and a force close if you go to update... I would either do 3 or 4.
     
  15. benwalburn

    benwalburn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    435
    68
    53
    Computer Repair
    Thank you. I didn't do a nandroid backup since i'm stock besides the kernel. I do have odin ready. I'll use it when i need to.
     

Share This Page

Loading...