1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GingerShedBread/GSB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by doogald, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    I know that we already have a post about this ROM, but that's already two versions old.

    GSB 1.5 hit today, with the lastest CyanogenMod ROM 7 RC1 code incorporated. I actually haven't installed it yet, but will later tonight.

    It's supposed to need just a Dalvik wipe, but remember that if you flash the update, you need to immediately follow with the Google apps flash before you restart, and you should also re-flash the xtrcache2cache for Froyo if you installed that as well.

    Let us know if you've installed it and how things are running!
     

    Advertisement

    paleodust likes this.
  2. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    I'm downloading the zip now. Çan 1.5 be flashed over 1.4 without doing a wipe?
     
  3. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    dagnabbit! i just finished booting up 1.4,lol... i tried an experiment. deleted the .android_secure folder before booting into recovery. once its up and running if it seems stable ill flash the 1.5 overtop and see what happens :)
     
  4. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina

    What is the android.secure folder?
     
  5. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    It's actually .android_secure

    The folder on your SD card where Froyo and Gingerbread store apps that you have moved to SD. Files and folder that begin with a period in a *nix operating system like Android are normally hidden from directory listings unless you specifically look for hidden folders. That's why the folder name starts with a period.
     
    Bob Cat likes this.
  6. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    doh! i knew id screw it up if i dint look at what it was first :p

    v1.4 came up and is functioning seemingly fine,but im now having a computer issue so ill have to wait till later to play with it some more and download v1.5 :mad:
     
  8. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    So far no problems.:)
     
  9. MOS95B

    MOS95B Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    434
    19
    58
    Male
    Enterprise Level NAS Tech Support
    Minnesota
    I flashed it last night, but since i worked tha late shift, I haven't had time to do any real testing
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    I did a non-data wipe flash, so any change to LP was unnoticed by me, but I did notice that it defaulted to the rotary lockscreen (which is easily changed in CyanogenMod settings.) Also, Erisuser1 has solved the undead call problem that was plaguing various Eris ROMs, and the change necessary was incorporated into 1.5. If you were having problems with undead calls on Froyo, GSB 1.5 is one easy solution.
     
  11. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    In the theme choser what is the widget on the left side of the screens? Also good to know about the dropped call issue.:)
     
  12. mjb34500

    mjb34500 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    29
    2
    16
    TiBu question for anyone who can help - if I do a backup, full wipe and flash the new GSB ROM, how can I find my old backup to restore apps and settings? When I look under Settings --> Manage Apps, no apps show as being there (even on the SD where everything is and most importantly, no sign of TiBu to be able to even execute a restore). However, when I check my SD on my computer, all that space is still taken up and all the files are still there?

    I'm confused!!!!

    EDIT: found my own answer, sorry for being 'that guy'

    http://matrixrewriter.com/wiki/tiki-index.php?page=TB+-+HOWTOs
     
    woodstorm likes this.
  13. woodstorm

    woodstorm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    475
    157
    68
    I do "stuff" for "acquaintances"...
    NOLA
    Not a dumb question and thanks. Was trying to play with TB myself. Thanks:D
     
  14. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    223
    4
    56
    Graphic Designer
    Erie, PA
    Hi guys-

    I'm not a pro at this, so apologies if this is a dumb question...

    I've only used xtrROM 4.6 while being rooted and I'd like to try GingerShedBread v1.5 ROM, so do I have to install this "gapps" too? What is that, and what does it provide? I didn't have to do it for xtrROM, why for this?

    Thanks!!! This community is amazing!
     
  15. kobel1up

    kobel1up Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    310
    16
    38
    student
    Miamisburg, ohio
    I am not a huge fan of 2.2 roms, but I wanted to try this one out. I like the green color, looks cool.
     
  16. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    the gapps are needed to incorporate some google apps. many are downloadable individually from the market,but if you dont flash the gapps,then you may not have the market! :eek:

    i flashed the gapps with shedbred and am having no issues with doing so.(on another rom flashing the gapps caused repeated rebgoots)
     
  17. woodstorm

    woodstorm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    475
    157
    68
    I do "stuff" for "acquaintances"...
    NOLA
    1.5 onboard. TiBu is a Godsend.
     
  18. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    210
    10
    38
    ND
    Gingerbread isn't 2.2.
     
  19. paleodust

    paleodust Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,023
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,023
    71
    128
    Male
    Finance
    Utah
    I just noticed this post. What's been your experience with GingerShedBread? I'm liking CELB 4.3 a lot but I'm curious about GingerShedBread. What does it add/fix that might be an improvement over CELB 4.3?

    By the way, it can be found here... http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=944430
     
  20. roscuthiii

    roscuthiii Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    161
    7
    36
    Physical Security Access Control Officer - or a se
    WA
    I'm in the same boat here, coming from xtrSense. I thought I'd had all this in the bag but I've been happy with xtrSense for so long I'm having a brain fart after being away from the forums. My question is should I look for and erase the .android_secure file if I'm coming from 2.1? It seems to only be mentioned in the context of 2.2 but I'd like to make sure,
     
  21. zerocool79346

    zerocool79346 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    978
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    978
    432
    113
    That particular folder is only used by Froyo and above apps2SD, you won't have it present.
     
  22. paleodust

    paleodust Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,023
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,023
    71
    128
    Male
    Finance
    Utah
    Does 2.3 handle apps2SD the same way as 2.2?
     
  23. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    When I flashed 1.5 I had like 145mb of 167mb.:) Like Scotty I've flashed a lot of roms (you beat me to the gapps question Scotty) and I average about 112mb-117mb free (I don't download a lot of apps). With xtrSENSE and xtrROM, apps2sd showed up in TB and was all but 1.67mb full allthough doogald said in a post that TB maybe misreporting that. I think you have to patition the sd card for apps2sd and I'm not comfortable with doing that. I like 1.5 but it could be temporary before I'm flashing something else.:D
     
  24. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    Not much of an improvement from CELB, except for a few things:

    - if you Navigate and had the problem where it would disconnect after 30 minutes, that apparently is fixed in GSB

    - if you had problems with "undead calls" - calls where it appeared the phone disconnected, then immediately reconnected, though it was live the whole time - that is apparently fixed in GSB (though it can be fixed manually in CELB for now.)

    - it is reported that the camera has minor bugs - if it's live and the phone sleeps, it may come back to a black screen. I may be wrong about that, though.


    I'm not sure if it's exactly the same process, but it does use a hidden folder on the SD card called .android_secure, as Froyo does. It doesn't use a partitioned SD card as the 2.1 custom ROMs do.
     
    paleodust likes this.
  25. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    How can I make the keys click or make a noise when touched on the keyboard. And something I've been wondering for some time now is it possiable to resend a text. Like if somebody say's they didn't get it.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...