1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GingerShedBread v1.3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by knitpurlgurl, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. knitpurlgurl

    knitpurlgurl Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Anyone else running this? I flashed it today. I had been running GSB v1.2 and I don't find it to really be any different. I see a lot of ppl on XDA saying that it is smoother.. et cetera.

    So far I like it. I need to play with it a bit more. I found v1.2 to have default notification sound glitches (would spontaneously revert) and it didn't play nicely with Flickr Companion. Also, I had some FC issues with the camera and the video. So those are the things I'm going to play with to see if the v1.3 differences lie there.

    Otherwise, it's a pretty stable ROM. I know a lot of ppl are reporting issues with Nav, but it's not GSB necessarily that is causing the issue. I find it to be slightly faster than the FroShedYo Vanilla ROM, but not extremely noticeable.

    What are y'all finding with your experiences?
     

    Advertisement

  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    awsome! beat me to the punch,lol.i i have been waiting (not so) patiently for v1.3 to come out.

    i had flashed over to tazz's GB to check it out. im headed out the door but ill be downloading and flashing shedbread when i return :D
     
  3. T-Keith

    T-Keith Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    397
    33
    43
    Still running 1.2 here. I did notice today my ringtone got reset, and gps has trouble. Other than that very smooth, and I've been sticking with it. I will try to flash 1.3 soon and see how it goes.
     
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    a word of caution about formatting your SD card... i read thru tazz's thread after noticing the those recomendations. alot of folks are having trouble with tazz's GB,and seems like the ones having the most issue are the ones who followed the directions,lol...

    tazz himself had not done it, simply wiped and flashed.

    i dint do it on shedbread or tazz and both have been working fine for me.

    for whatever thats worth,anyway. :)
     
    knitpurlgurl likes this.
  5. knitpurlgurl

    knitpurlgurl Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    I did NOT format my SD card either. I wiped and flashed. So far, my notification settings haven't reverted to default settings. I just took a cpl pics and had no issues uploading them to Flickr. I'll have to play with the video later to see how that's working.
     
  6. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    546
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    I'm running this as well. The only problem I'm having is simiclock keeps freezing on me. None of the other widgets are doing this, and I have tried two different release versions of the .apk. Guess I have to find another clock widget (I've been testing a few to see what I like).
     
  7. knitpurlgurl

    knitpurlgurl Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Spoke too soon - both my notification and ringtone sounds reverted to default. :( This isn't the biggest problem in the world - but I hope it gets fixed in subsequent versions.

    I've also downloaded 2 different battery widgets now that aren't showing up in my widget shortcuts menu. :(
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    If I'm not mistaken, I think that the recommendation to format was just an easier way to clear the .android_secure folder used by Froyo and up to store apps moved to the SD card. Probably a better way is to use something like Astro to delete (or rename) that folder before you flash GSB. And stop using apps2sd - I think that the Froyo method is more troublesome than the apps2sd method used with ext partitions on 2.1 ROMs.

    I've decided to wait on GSB until CyanogenMod gets further along, but I ran GSB 1.2 for a few days with very minimal issues. It's really a decent build, and the issues I was having were very, very minor.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  9. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    scotty85 and knitpurlgurl like this.
  10. woodstorm

    woodstorm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    475
    157
    68
    I do "stuff" for "acquaintances"...
    NOLA
  11. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    could one also simply delete that folder with the phone plugged into the pc? after dragging it to a suitable other spot to to live for awhile in case its needed again later :D

    is there another folder one should get rid of having to do with thr apps to sd thing? i know i havent moved any with my last few roms... i cant remember actually if ive ever used that feature on the eris.
     
  12. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    I was on GSB 1.2 then went to xtaSENSE 4.6.5 then back to GSB 1.2 then went to xtaROM 5.0. I might try GSB 1.4 or I may just wait a little longer.:D
     
  13. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    210
    10
    38
    ND
    I haven't tried Workshed's ROM yet, but I've been running Tazz's v3 and it's rock solid for me. He's up to v5 and seems to have ironed out all of the reboot and syncing problems people were having with the earlier releases.
     
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    i switched over to tazz's v3.5 since people were having so much trouble with it. i did not partition my card. the first flash i did the rom,the vzw change,and the gapps. had the reboot prollem discussed in the thread(lots of folks getting reboot a couple seconds every time after phone comes up- somehow connected to flashing the gapps). so i wiped again,flashed the rom and the vzw change and rebooted.

    no more reboots,pretty smooth and solid. when you first try and slide from one home screen to another it lags a little.

    i may try deleting the folder as doogald suggested and see how that affects it. at any rate both of these roms are awsome for how early it is in their development :)
     
  15. knitpurlgurl

    knitpurlgurl Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Just Flashed v1.4 which was released EARLY this morning. We'll see how it goes. Reports from XDA are that the Nav is now working.
     
  16. davidr2340

    davidr2340 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    44
    8
    16
    I'm running 1.4, and nav is working great for me!

    Really loving this ROM now!!!

    :cool:
     
  17. cmajpwc

    cmajpwc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    269
    4
    36
    Yup, used the nav on the way home today. Worked flawlessly. Other then the screen on/off animations and pop ups being slow and sometimes glitchy, its amazing and really smooth.
     
  18. woodstorm

    woodstorm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    475
    157
    68
    I do "stuff" for "acquaintances"...
    NOLA
    Fresh 1.4 on my phone. So far so good.
     
  19. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    Same here. It took me a few tries, though. As I am not a fan of the customized LP look, I tried to uninstall LP with Titanium and then restore from my previous backup. LP would force close on the next boot, unfortunately.

    Don't try that yourselves.
     
  20. lennyjew

    lennyjew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    369
    38
    43
    Calibration Technician
    Dublin, Ohio
    Some liked it, some didn't. Either way Workshed stated he's not going to use his signature customized LP. Instead he'll have the stock LP look with a flashable .zip file for those that want the customized look.
     
  21. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,042
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,042
    4,287
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    Flashed 1.4 a few minutes ago and seeing a couple of fc's already.:( Haven't really started playing with it yet.
    EDIT: must have been a fluke. Been running ok.
     
  22. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California
    1.4 NAV is great so far, CM7 RC1 just released today, so expect 1.5 any day now :)
     
  23. woodstorm

    woodstorm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    475
    157
    68
    I do "stuff" for "acquaintances"...
    NOLA
    Is 1.5 out already?
     
  24. davidr2340

    davidr2340 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    44
    8
    16
    It is... I haven't flashed it yet. Probably tomorrow though!!!

    :cool:
     
    woodstorm likes this.
  25. woodstorm

    woodstorm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    475
    157
    68
    I do "stuff" for "acquaintances"...
    NOLA

    Stock LP on 1.5?
     

Share This Page

Loading...