1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Give Me a break

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RandomRedMage, Sep 25, 2014.

1. RandomRedMage

RandomRedMage Lurker

Of that KitKat Rom.

OK, horrid pun out of the way, are there any custo roms out there that support the Hydro icon, and if so, are any of them KitKat? It's my new little toy, and for the price [free] it has way more features than i could have asked for. including NFC and wireless charging. [yay]

But Jellybean does not allow for HCE, so im a little limited in that area. I just updated my Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 to Kitkat, and I really like what it can do, and would like that experience shared with my phone.

I've already rooted the thing, uninstalled some of the bloatware and it runs fantastic. [though signal is a little spotty at work but thats a boost thing]

I'm a PC Repair technician, but phones are a little beyond me and I rarely have enough time to really deeply study into a NEW field beyond just keeping up with new toys.

Any info would be greatly appreciated. I know this little thing can run it... the LG Volt has KitKat, and the specs are near identical.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. scary alien

scary alien not really so scary
    VIP Member

Hey RandomRedMage, welcome to AF! :)

I've moved your thread over to the all-things-root sub-forum since the folks in here should best be able to answer your questions.

Cheers!

3. phonehelp

phonehelp Newbie

The hydro ICON is supposedly going to get updated to KitKat soon. Maybe later this month. Supposedly. You can only root Kyocera phones. You can't put custom Roms in because the boot loader is locked. Causing you to boot loop the phone�� if you try.

Goldeneagle72 likes this.
  4. Jakk

Jakk Member