1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Give me Root... OR GIVE ME DEATH!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by E11evenE11even, Jan 20, 2013.

1. E11evenE11even

None

Jan 19, 2013
    Male
    Hola everyone.
    Today I intend to Root my HTC One S, and then install a custom Rom to it. I have never done this before but the steps seem relatively simple.
    I have a few questions I could not find the answers to before I begin, though.

1. I am using a Windows 8 pc, will that change any of the necessary steps in the tutorial stickied here?

2. What are the benefits of the specific Roms? I've seen a few, but truthfully I kinda have trouble understanding what the differences in some of them mean.
    I've heard people mention aokp and aosp and I'm not sure what that means. I've read that, historically, CyanogenMods are powerful ways to go, but I'm not sure if that's for me or if the newest CM release for the HTC One S is stable. I've also read about a Pacman Rom, Zen Rom and ParanoidAndroid Rom, but again the terminology is a bit lost to me and I'm not sure what the feel and control level would be for each.
    I'm looking for 2 main things: customizability and simplicity. I'd like to be able to change almost everything on the phone; fonts, splash screens, menu bar colors, etc. I can be quite picky sometimes and I consider myself somewhat of an artist.
    At the same time I'd like it not to be a complete cluster***, (not that any of these are, but for all I know, as I've never used one, they might be.) as even though I like to make everything my own, sometimes I go for a 'minimalist' feel. I DEFINITELY want to get rid of all the stock bloatware that came on my phone, very few things annoy me as much as having to navigate through that garbage to get to an application.