1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Gmail Account Won't delete after factory reset

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Renee1228, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    I'm about to start the unrooting steps based on the awesome guide above (you guys are fantastic for laying that all out like that!) But here's my question, my Evo has been rooted for 2 years. I just got a new phone and want to give this one to my kid, but even when I wiped the data, it won't wipe my gmail account. This obviously won't work as he can't load his own contacts, etc. Do I need to unroot (I'm assuming Method 1 from above) in order to get my gmail account off this phone? I don't really care if he gets a rooted phone or not, at least that's not my priority. I just want all my stuff off this phone, so it will be like a new phone for him.

    Any advice is VERY appreciated! Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

    ocnbrze likes this.
  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Hello!
    When you say you wiped data, do you mean a factory reset? Or did you wipe the data partition via recovery?
     
    ocnbrze and Renee1228 like this.
  3. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Hi, Mike! Yes, I was cooking dinner and was distracted, so my son asked if he should do a factory reset and I said yes, without realizing it was rooted so bad idea. It got all messed up but I had a Nandroid file on my pc and was able to save that to SD card and everything is working fine now. It wiped all my apps, texts, etc. but not my gmail account. It won't let me delete it, even after we set up a secondary gmail for him.

    Edit: It also won't let us update the Software. It gives an error and aborts. So, it doesn't even say "Play Store" now, it's back to "Market".
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Just wiping data is essentially a factory reset and should have wiped your data including gmail. I am surprised you still had gmail on the phone after a reset. Did it ask you to sign into gmail after the reset?

    There is not really a need to unroot to get the phone to a post-rom flash.
    What rom are you on? What recovery do you have?
     
    Renee1228 likes this.
  5. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    That's it exactly. Everything was brand new. Wallpaper, boot screen, everything, except that my Google account is still in there. No, I didn't re-enter it. It didn't ask me to. I guess because it still had mine. Now I'm going to expose my ignorance. I honestly can't keep track of what the different things are called. (probably b/c I only deal with this stuff ever couple of years, although I'm going to try to root my Note II later today) I had the Mik on there, is that the Rom? But now I think it's gone because like I said, the loading screen is back to the standard Sprint one, not the Mik one that used to be on there. I'm confused about how everything got wiped but it will not let go of my Google account. And it won't let me install any system updates, which it why I thought if I just started over maybe it would fix whatever issue it was having.
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Gotcha, at this point, I would flash a fresh download of MikG, or your rom of choice.
    If you need some help, let me know and we can get ya going.
    Here is a link for MikG rom.
    Dev-Host - MikG-v3.11-signed.zip - The Ultimate Free File Hosting / File Sharing Service

    I do recall seeing, after some rom flashes, a screen that comes up asking if you want to backup or restore settings from google. If you see that screen after the flash, un-tick those boxes. Not sure if that will come up after the MikG rom flash.

    If you decide to flash the rom, I would suggest wiping all except sd card, 3 times, then flash.
    Like I said, if you need any help, just ask:)
     
    ocnbrze and Renee1228 like this.
  7. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ok, so you think flashing back to Mik will allow me to delete the Google account? That does seem easier than unrooting. I honestly don't remember how to flash a rom, but I can go back and re-read the how to root thread and try figure it out. Oh, btw, there is a folder on my desktop called "system" and in it is a file called superuser.apk. I assume that's from when I rooted, but I have no idea what that is. Can I delete it?

    Thank you SO, SO much! You have been so helpful. If I have problems, I'll post here.
     
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    No problem...here is a little guide with links I copied and pasted for you:

    Perhaps I will move yours and my posts into your own little thread so it wont get lost here and easier to find if you want:)
     
    ocnbrze and Renee1228 like this.
  9. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    So, I'm reading the rooting thread. The phone is on Ginger 2.3.3. And I see it saying to use something called superwipe before flashing to a new rom. Should I do this? Thank you!!

    EDIT: NVM! LOL We cross posted. I see from your message above, you do recommend doing the superwipe. I will follow your instructions. (I feel like I should finish that sentence with Obi Wan!) Thanks again!
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  10. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    That is optional...helpful, but optional. It will wipe the proper partitions for you 3 times instead of you doing it 3 times.
    Personally, I dont use it....I like doing it myself:)
    It doesn't hurt tho:)
     
    ocnbrze and Renee1228 like this.
  11. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Do you know what all should be on the SD card? Should I delete the Nandroid file before I flash the new rom? There's also a file for Syncr on there. Should I remove that? I'm not sure what all should be on or off that card before I do this. Or does it even matter? It's an 8GB, so hopefully I won't run out of space.
     
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Hey Renee,
    I made a thread for you here so others can chime in also:)
     
    ocnbrze and Renee1228 like this.
  13. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I would leave the nandroid backup file on there until after the rom flash.
    When you start to wipe in recovery before the rom flash, just be sure not to wipe the SD CARD ITSELF! You can wipe everything but the sd card.
    Don't worry about the file Syncr for now...I dont know what that is anyway:p

    The 2 files you want on the sd card before the flash are:
    The rom.
    The superwipe (if desired)

    All other files that are on the sd card can stay on there for now.
     
    ocnbrze and Renee1228 like this.
  14. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Got it, thanks! The Syncr is for syncing iTunes playlists on the Android phone. But it's strange b/c the file is on the SD card, but the app is no longer on the phone and I can't find it in the store. It's not big deal. He can find another app to do that. I have bigger concerns than syncing a playlist right now. :)
     
  15. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    okee dokee...and just for giggles, I'm gonna flash that rom too now to see how it goes.:)
    I made my backup and I am ready to flash. I am just curious to see if it wipes my gmail too..which it should.
    So right now, we are going to be in the same boat:p
     
  16. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    BY the way, what recovery do you have?
     
  17. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    I'm not sure...:eek: Where do I look to find out?
     
  18. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Recovery is the screen you were in when you restored your nandroid backup.
    It should say somewhere on there what the name of the recovery is.
    Like, AmonRa, or Clockworkmod, or TWRP (doubt if it is TWRP), or Smelkus.
     
  19. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    None of those sound familiar. I just did the power and vol down button and got to the bootloader screen, I think? From there I did a wipe then restore from Nandroid.

    Do I have to unzip the files before they go on the card, or can they go on there zipped?
     
  20. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Your bootloader screen is a white screen that looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    Your recovery screen should look something like this:
    [​IMG]

    And leave the files zipped up...no need to unzip them.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  21. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Oh, ok, it looked just like the second screen. It was black with green print, and had that same HTC logo on it.
     
    ocnbrze and Mikestony like this.
  22. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Nice!! At the bottom, do you remember what it said?
    (Like in the pic it says, "Build...RA Supersonic"
     
  23. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ok, I'm not sure what happened. Yesterday it was the second screen, but now it's the white screen. Do I need to do something with recovery before I flash? I just cannot figure out what this phone did. (or rather what I did to it??)

    Edit: It says Revolutionary at the top.
     
  24. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    No, and the reason I ask, is if you have the CWM (Clockworkmod recovery), that recovery doesnt wipe very well and I would suggest you wipe things 3 times.
    Is CWM bad to have at this point? No, but I would still wipe things at least 3 times. Don't worry about it for now...I was just curious.

    We can change what recovery you have later if you desire.:)
     
  25. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    What is the Revolutionary thing? I don't see that in your pic above. It's highlighted bright pink on the screen. Ok, I'm proceeding with flashing. Cover me, I'm going in. LOL
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...