1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support gmail contacts question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by johnc4510, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. johnc4510

    johnc4510 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Which is the proper syntax for phone numbers in gmail contacts?

    a. 1-555-555-5555

    or

    b. 555-555-5555

    I get my phone Monday and I want the sync with gmail to be right.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mixmaster300

    Mixmaster300 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I have all mine entered like option B, without the 1.
     
  3. Barbara

    Barbara Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    840
    31
    88
    My dad is long distance for me so I have the 1 for him. The local numbers have no 1. But, I believe with the latest update you don't need the area code anymore if they are local, even for sms but I still have the area code in there anyway.
     
  4. johnc4510

    johnc4510 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Thanks Mixmaster!
     
  5. johnc4510

    johnc4510 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Barbara....thx for the info. I'm going to put all area codes in since I do some traveling.
     
  6. scorpio21

    scorpio21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    Just wondering, but does it matter? I have all my phone number contacts (long distance or not) set as: (555) 555-5555 and I've had no issues whatsoever.
     
  7. John Frykman

    John Frykman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    41
    1
    16
    Dashes and parentheses are not transmitted. You could just as easily use 555.555.5555, or even 5555555555. The dashes, dots and parentheses are jut to help people see and remember all the numbers. Some programs will automatically format phone numbers but a dialer doesn't need formatting.
     
  8. Hegemony

    Hegemony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    313
    23
    38
    I write about technology for Maximum PC and Tested
    in the Transcend
    Yeah, I'm pretty sure it doesn't matter. I have all my contacts without the '1' even if they are long distance. I think phone networks are just smart enough these days to assume certain things.
     
  9. barry99705

    barry99705 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Heh, most of my contacts have the 1 at the beginning. I used to have the first gen iPhone, and if they didn't then the caller id didn't work properly. I sync my address book on my mac to my gmail contacts, so they all have the 1. Too lazy to remove.
     
  10. Telexen

    Telexen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    234
    13
    38
    I believe Google Voice needs the 1...I format all my contacts that way (got used to old phones requiring the "+1...").
     

Share This Page

Loading...