1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Gmail CPU usage after JB updaye

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jerethi, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. Jerethi

    Jerethi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16
    I've noticed that after receiving the Jelly Bean update for my VZW GS3, my Gmail app tends to use a lot more cpu. It sits in the background with a steady 2-5% cpu usage. I've tried lowering the number of days to sync and other tweaks, but can't figure out what's causing it. The only way to avoid it seems to be to back out of Gmail, rather than hitting the home button to navigate away.

    Has anyone else noticed this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikes1

    mikes1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012

    Jun 18, 2012
    256
    25
    43
    Gmail doesn't even show up in my battery at all and it is always synched. I don't know what would be causing your 2-5% battery drain from it.
     
  3. Jerethi

    Jerethi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16
    For me, it appears in the built-in task manager (which I access my long-pressing the home button my GS3 and tapping task manager). It appears there and usually shows a steady 2-5% cpu usage.
     
  4. Aluin13

    Aluin13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    I'm having the same problem on my AT&T GS3 running JB. I recently noticed that Gmail is having the exact same behavior you describe. The only way I am able to avoid it is by backing out of the app rather than using the home button to exit. I've found that Gmail will continue to run in the background from around 2 to 5% until I kill it. I even tried leaving the process running without killing it over night (while plugged in) and it was still running when I woke up.

    Have you found a solution?
     
  5. Jerethi

    Jerethi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16
    Thanks for the response. Haven't come across a solution other than trying to be consistent about backing out of the app. Hopefully it's a bug that gets squashed in a future version.
     
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    % of cpu use and % of battery use are usualy very different things remember :thumbup:
     
  7. Jerethi

    Jerethi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16

    Yep, like I said, it's cpu usage. I monitor apps and their cpu usage fairly diligently in the task manager. Gmail will often report anywhere from 2% to 5% steady cpu usage in task manager, unless I back out of the app to close it. Strange and annoying!
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    That does seem a lot mate. Have you used Cpu Spy to see if its waking your phone more than it should while its asleep?
     
  9. Aluin13

    Aluin13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    In an earlier post I said that removing the most recent update to gmail fixed the problem, but I was mistaken. The same behavior happens even after deleting the app's cache and data, and downgrading to the factory version of the app.

    Also, I found that I had a titanium backup of the app from last November, so I tried restoring it and it still exhibited the same behavior.
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Mine idles at 0% with an occasional spike. Wonder if this is a factory reset moment
     
  11. Aluin13

    Aluin13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    That might be a good idea. I've never done a factory reset though. Forgive me if this is a silly question, but to what extent should I back things up to restore the phone after the reset? Would it be wisest to simply reinstall everything manually?
     
  12. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    After the reset, when you boot the phone and log in, it should give you the option to download every app you had on it so if youre on a limited plan, obviously use wifi.
    (Im not sure if that option even works without wifi tbh)
     
  13. Aluin13

    Aluin13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks. I also read the post linked to in SUroot's signature and I think I'm going to go ahead and try the factory reset.

    I'll post back with results.
     
  14. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    SU is one of the forum's true fonts of knowledge mate so without doubt, that is the way to go man :thumbup:
     
  15. Aluin13

    Aluin13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    I just finished a factory reset and it made no change. :(
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It may be a bug in your release then. Keep an eye on it and see if ot causes any battery drain.
     
  17. Jerethi

    Jerethi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16
    Just to follow up on this, unfortunately, I seem to still be experiencing this odd cpu behavior in the update to Gmail that Google released today.

    Are others faring better?
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I've still not got the issue, if thats what you mean?!
     
  19. Jerethi

    Jerethi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16
    What I meant was, even after installing the update to Gmail that was pushed today, I am still experiencing the odd steady 2-4% cpu usage problem that I explained in my original post. In other words, the new version of the Gmail app doesn't seem to have resolved this issue for me.
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I was answering the "Are others faring better" part, to which my answer is yes.

    I have indeed read the entire thread before, as you can probably tell.

    Google updates to gmail probably wont fix it because if it was a bug with gmail, we'd all have it. It's more likely a bug with your update to jellybean.

    I still haven't seen you mention whether you've done a factory reset or not, because if you haven't, you should do that if even to rule it out.
     
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Agreed. Id either just put up with it or back up what i can and factory reset :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...