1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Gmail desktop login

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by JAy3001, May 19, 2016.

  1. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,096
    463
    263
    Male
    UK
    So I often have to login to Gmail at work on a shared computer and have 2 step authentication active.

    Each time I login Gmail automatically ticks the save login details and save as a safe computer! This drives me loopy as if your in a rush or just don't notice you end up compromising your security. Fair nuff easy to remove my login details, but not so easy to reset the trusted computer.

    Why on earth does Google want to weaken it's security settings so easily? Let me tick the bloody boxes.. Grrr.. :mad::)

    Sorry, just had to have a gripe. ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,329
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,329
    36,128
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If you go into chrome settings>advanced>privacy and you unchecked offer to save your web passwords, would that stop it?
     
  3. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,096
    463
    263
    Male
    UK
    Thanks lunatic. But it's not chrome offering to save the details, but the login page itself.

    Besides, option to save details is always switched off. :p :D
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,329
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,329
    36,128
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Hmm, then I guess what you have there is a "feature", not a "bug". :goofydroid:
     
    JAy3001 likes this.
  5. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,096
    463
    263
    Male
    UK
    And a lovely feature it is too.. o_O:)
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  6. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,987
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,987
    3,020
    608
    Illinois
    It's actually a browser cookie issue. You need to delete the Google cookie relative to the gmail login page so then that login page reverts back to having the auto-save checkbox unchecked by default.
     
  7. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,096
    463
    263
    Male
    UK
    Not here it would appear. Just cleared all data in IE and Chrome, restarted the browser's, logged in and both browsers automatically have save login and trust pc boxes ticked. :cool:
     
  8. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,987
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,987
    3,020
    608
    Illinois
    Would using either Chrome's Incognito Mode, Firefox's Private Browsing, or IE's InPrivate Browsing whenever you're at work be a viable solution?
     
  9. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,096
    463
    263
    Male
    UK
    That's an idea for sure. Something to test, as I believe that as the tick boxes are still ticked that the trusted computer option may still authorise wouldn't you think?
     
  10. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,329
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,329
    36,128
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
  11. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,987
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,987
    3,020
    608
    Illinois
    In Private Browsing mode things like cookies and site history are only saved 'per session' so they're only retained as long as you're using the browser. Once you quit the browser it gets cleared. Just remember to quit the browser when you're done.
    A nice feature about Gmail is if you're logged into your account in the bottom right corner there's a 'Details' link that when you click on it a new window will pop up with a previous login list and a big 'Sign out other web sessions' button that will close out any other remote account logins.
     

Share This Page

Loading...