1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Gmail (Froyo) Not Sending?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gs13, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. gs13

    gs13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    52
    7
    16
    ohio
    For some reason I can not send any emails from my phone. They get stuck in "Outbox" and never continue on from there. I have Skyraider 2.5.2 (vanilla) and Radio 2.15.

    Anyone have any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Stock Email app? If so, ditch it. I have never heard of anything but problems with that app. If you use Gmail, use the official gmail app. If not, get K9 email.
     
  3. gs13

    gs13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    52
    7
    16
    ohio
    No, definitely not the Stock Email app. It's the official Gmail app (froyo version) that came with SkyRaider. I tried unistalling it, and it won't let me. I checked in the Market, and it isn't in there.

    *Sigh. I may have to re-flash SkyRaider, or wait until 3.0 officially releases.
     
  4. upther

    upther Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    456
    61
    53
    Micco, FL

    Really? I've used the stock email app ever since I got the phone and never had a problem sending or receiving my Comcast email through it.
     
  5. gs13

    gs13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    52
    7
    16
    ohio
    Ok, I think I fixed it without having to restore a backup or reflash anything. I pulled the "Goodies for 2.2" over and installed them again, and it seemed to correct it. Feels jerry-rigged, but it worked.
     
  6. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Well that app just sometimes runs wild and takes up a whole load of storage space often resulting in the "Low Space Error."

    That shouldn't feel jerry-rigged, thats a perfectly normal solution, you're just reinstalling Gmail. It's not available in the market anyway.
     
    gs13 likes this.
  7. upther

    upther Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    456
    61
    53
    Micco, FL
    Ahhh. I have heard about that before. Just been fortunate not to run into it.
     
  8. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Yeah, I think that was the reason I got my Low Space Error a few months ago. When I first set up the phone (got it a few days after launch), I put 3 of my gmail addresses into the stock email app. Then I realized that there was an official gmail app, so I just used the gmail app. I forgot to remove my accounts from the stock app, and it just kept eating up storage. Good thing you haven't run into this error!
     
  9. gs13

    gs13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    52
    7
    16
    ohio
    Ok, this is good to know in case I have this issue (or a similar one) in the future.
     
  10. ikenny

    ikenny Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    i just ran into this problem where nothing i sent from the phone would leave the outbox. (i'm on virtuous 3.1.0)

    so i went into manage applications and cleared the data on gmail.

    works fine now
     

Share This Page

Loading...