1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Going abroad

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lilee, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. Lilee

    Lilee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Hampshire, England
    I currently have a T-Mobile G2 in the UK and am going over to Dublin for the weekend.

    I don't intend to use the phone - but need to take it so i'm contactable. Is there a way I can turn off the internet so I don't get charged while i'm over there.

    I'm sorry if it's a really simple question and I sound like an iiot - but I honestly haven't a clue!

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. daffyduck

    daffyduck Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Easy. Put the mobile data widget on any of your home screens (find in HTC widget / settings) and you can turn the internet on and off as you want.

    Can also turn it off by going into the Settings through Menu.
     
  3. Lilee

    Lilee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Hampshire, England
    Thanks a mil!
     
  4. Nighthaunt

    Nighthaunt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    88
    0
    35
    In the settings - wireless controls - mobile network settings - untick Data roaming.

    This means it will only send data over the network if you are connected to the same network as SIM (I'm in UK but work in France - when I'm in France I get an R next to signal strength to indicate I'm roaming (using a different network to SIM's network) and it doesn't connect to data services.

    Soon as I'm back in the UK the R dissapears as I'm no longer roaming and it connects for Data.

    It works for France so will work for Southern Ireland or anywhere else where you are away from the network your contacts with.
     
  5. Lilee

    Lilee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Hampshire, England
    Thanks ever so much. I've done both those things so hopefully that should safeguard me against any charges while i'm over there!
     
  6. Nighthaunt

    Nighthaunt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    88
    0
    35
    Will work fine - was one reason changed from N97 where I had to keep changing data on and off.

    As long as data roaming is off Hero handles it automatically - and for me as soon as in hotel WiFi range automatically connects and downloads :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...