1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Going Back To Stock Evo Sense

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MusicJunkie, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    I know that once you flash a new ROM on the phone you have to let it settle on the phone again. My question is if you were to flash the original stock Sense overlay ROM for the EVO will you have to let it settle again or will it be fine and work just like normal?
     

    Advertisement

  2. your phone should settle and be fine after about 10 minutes or so..the battery is another story...after a new kernel flash the phone takes a day or so for it to settle and calibrate the battery...i suggest calibrating it after flashing a rom..

    (let phone die/power off..let charge till light is green.then turn phone off while still on the charger.the light will turn orange again.once it finishes charging to green again,which should take about 5 minutes or so,boot to recovery with the phone still plugged in. wipe battery stats..then reboot to system and unplug..now your done calibrating)

    YOU SHOULD LET THE PHONE DIE TO THE POINT OF POWERING ITSELF OFF/COMPLETELY DEAD AFTER CALIBRATING..THIS WILL ENSURE THE BEST BATTERY LIFE!!

    hope this helps you!
     
    ocnbrze and MusicJunkie like this.
  3. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    Okay, thank you. I usually did that anyway but I didn't know that was the actual method LOL. It just seemed like common sense. I'm about to flash the stock rom back on my evo and that comes backed in with the original stock kernel so I'm assuming I should do this battery calibration thing with that too ? lol
     
  4. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Yep, any change will require a resettling period. I personally just keep using and charging my phone as normal and don't bother with trying to calibrate the battery.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  5. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    Okay cool. I usually try to recalibrate when I want to use a ROM/kernel that will be my daily driver and I stop flashing LOL. I flashed the stock rom and set it up but I don't like it anymore. I nandroid backed it up and restored my original MikG v3.0 nandroid. Which kernel did you say you used for this one?

    I went to Less Freedom but I don't think I gave it enough time to settle. I can't go back to stock without doing a fresh flash of the rom and I'm definitely trying to do that because MikG takes a little longer to set up to my liking than other roms. Some one said the stock Freedom worked just as well as the stock kernel that came with MikG. I just want good battery life, lol. Undervolted kernels don't like the Sense roms on my phone, only AOSP so I think I should just stick with stock or slightly undervolted kernels from now on.
     
  6. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    I've used all different kernels. Honestly, my battery life is about as good as stock as it is with anything. It actually sleeps a little better with the stock kernel that with any other ones. I've been running Anthrax on MikG over the last week or so, but I'm back home on Deck-Gingerbread 1.3d for the time being. The new version of Anthrax is calling my name though. Might nand back to my MikG setup from Friday and check it out this week.
     
    esthernrob and dustwun77 like this.
  7. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    How did Anthrax treat you're battery life?
     
  8. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Seemed about as good as the rest. Nothing ever made a huge difference one way or another for me. But its performance seemed better.
     
    ocnbrze and MusicJunkie like this.
  9. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    Did you use SetCPU at all?
     
  10. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    I did. Set to InteractiveX governor. I think that may actually be the default governor. If you don't have it or want to pay for it, System Tuner is pretty easy to use and you can set it up through that app. It's free. And with InteractiveX there is no need for screen off profiles, so System Tuner works just fine.
     
  11. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    I just looked at System Tuner. Do you like it over SetCPU? I don't think I need all the features that System Tuner has. I never set profiles. Only set the governor, set max and min, and that's it.
     
  12. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    I like it because I use system tuner for other things, and since I can also do what I need to my CPU with it, I often times will just leave SetCPU uninstalled and use System Tuner instead. I don't like having a bunch of different things on my phone that control the CPU because I'm always afraid they will conflict with each other. Like when I'm on an AOSP rom, I almost always use Tiamat 3.3.7 and the Smartass governor. The rom can handle that on its own, so I never bother with SetCPU on AOSP.
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  13. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    My first experiences with AOSP roms (mainly CM7) I had no clue that it had SetCPU basically baked into the rom. I did have setcpu running also (no profiles still) and I'm pretty sure it was messing up my rom at the time, lol.
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  14. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Yeah it might not really be messing anything up, but I figure if you have two ways of monitoring the same process, it's probably overkill right?
     
  15. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    True lol
     
  16. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    +1 on the stock kernel... i have tried all the new kernels and yes, have let them "settle"... i honestly can't get any one of them to run as smooth as the stock... and for me, 12 hours @ 50% battery is pretty darn good... oc'ing has been missed but like i said, i couldn't get any kernel to oc and be nice to me... (oh how i miss the koni-netarchy days...)
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  17. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS

    Well it's not like you're unable to run that setup anymore! :)
     
  18. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    that is true, and i have not too long ago, but if i could get today's roms and kernels to run like koni and netarchy did, boy oh boy, would i be a happy camper...
     
  19. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    I have no clue what koni-netarchy is O_O lol

    Just an update, I did the recalibration of my battery (as explained in post # 2) after I flashed the stock Freedom kernel on the MikG rom. Works awesome. That's the fastest I had the kernel settle on the phone. Stock kernels work better on my phone for Sense roms rather than under-volted kernels. I am pretty happy at the moment. I was getting sort of tired of flashing roms and kernels, lol.
     
  20. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    koni elite is an old froyo from that was really. Netarchy is the dev for the best sense froyo kernels. Nostalgic!
     
  21. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    Seeing as how I have updated my phone to gingerbread and the hboot and blah blah blah was updated, can I install a froyo rom on my phone? O_O noob question so don't shoot me down too much lol
     
  22. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Yep same process as always. Just don't flash a gingerbread kernel with it. Just go with the stock kernel it comes with so you can check it out
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  23. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    if you do flash a froyo rom i would suggest mikfroyo or koni's elite
     
  24. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS

    Agreed
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...