1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Going from 16 to 32G card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by idbl_fanatic, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    403
    37
    43
    So I am trying to copy all of my files from a 16G card to a new 32G card, I formatted the 32G card on the PC, then copied all of the contents over to the 32G card, when I put the card in the phone, it only showed 3G used, so I took the card out, formatted it again on the PC, and copied the files over in 3 separate batches, now it is showing 13G used, however the phone is not seeing any of my programs that I have installed on the card.

    I just formatted the card in the phone, and plugged the phone into the PC, and I am copying the files through the phone now.


    ...................Well that didn't work either.......................I'm out of ideas
     

    Advertisement

  2. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    I would recommend you try a program called SDFormatter. Google for it.

    However, if you've (finally) tried formatting the card with the phone and it won't accept the files, I think you have a marginal / defective SD card.
     
  3. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    403
    37
    43
    It is accepting the files, I see them on the PC, but the phone isn't seeing them
     
  4. mcvanta

    mcvanta Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    98
    7
    16
    Maybe its not compatible with ur phone? Wat brand did u buy
     
  5. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #85
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    223
    Female
    i think he formatted it to a non-compatible filesystem.... try fat32 filesystem
     
  6. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    403
    37
    43

    Did that just now with SD formatter, and I am copying the files over again.
     
  7. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #85
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    223
    Female
    i hope it works for you.... by the way where did you buy your sd card? im looking to upgrade from the stock 2gb to like a 8gb or a 16gb.
     
  8. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    403
    37
    43

    I got it from Fry's for $40
     
  9. bobakman

    bobakman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    43
    3
    16
    Did you get it to work? What brand and class card is it?

    Thanks, Bob
     
  10. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    403
    37
    43
    No it still did not work. It is a PNY class 4

    it's strange, I copy files (actually folder by folder this time and verifying they were there) I then put it in the phone, and same thing, my pics werent there, or the programs werent either, I took it out, put it back in the PC, and there is hardly anything on there.
     
  11. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    I have read other posts about issues with PNY SD cards...

    I'm not sure what your location is, but a 16GB CL10 from Microcenter has worked flawlessly for me. $28. I think they are actually ADATA cards.

    You might try installing SwiFTP on your phone, and FileZilla on your PC, and using an FTP connection to drag and drop files to your device.

    Download a program like es File Explorer and navigate the SD card that way.
     
  12. bobakman

    bobakman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    43
    3
    16
    Sounds like the data is being corrupted after insertion in the phone and this may be due to either a memory voltage issue with the phone versus the PC or you may just have a bad card. One other thing to try is reformat it again and using your PC copy files to the card and verify them actually open some if media. Correctly remove the card from your PC and leave it out for a Min or two and then reinsert it in your PC and verify that your data is still there and OK.If it is not then the card is definitely bad.

    Bob
     
  13. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    Do you have explorer set to view hidden files and folders?

    You might try minitool Best Free Partition Manager Freeware for Windows 7, Windows Vista, and Windows XP 32 bit & 64 bit. MiniTool Free Partition Manager Software Home Edition. there is an option to copy a partition. You have to be able to have both uSD cards in the computer at the same time. I used this Friday to copy my 2nd primary partition for use with Link2SD when I upgraded from an 8gb to a 16gb.

    If that doesn't work, I'd wager it is a bad or incompatible card.
     
  14. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    One thing: you shouldn't be formatting the card with the PC... Unless you use a program like SDFormatter specifically designed to format a device like this.

    The best thing to do IMHO, if you aren't using the format that was on the card when it was new is to use the phone to format the card.

    It really sounds like the card is a problem.
     
  15. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    I have used a pc (win 7) to format a card now problem. Unless the triumph is more picky about what formats its fat32 this should be a nonissue.
     
  16. bobakman

    bobakman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    43
    3
    16
    It may work but according to the SD Association: "The SD Formatter was created specifically for memory cards using the SD/SDHC/SDXC standards. It is strongly recommended to use the SD Formatter instead of formatting utilities provided with operating systems that format various types of storage media. Using generic formatting utilities may result in less than optimal performance for your memory cards."

    https://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter_3/

    Bob
     
  17. kofman13

    kofman13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    51
    0
    15
    Lol I was about to buy a 32 gb pny class 4. Should steer clear?
     
  18. jgriner

    jgriner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    97
    4
    36
    how bout hidden files? if you dont turn on see hidden files in windows, I dont think it would copy it over to new card
     

Share This Page

Loading...