1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General going to america

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jonous101, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. jonous101

    jonous101 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    Sheffield, UK
    Hey up. Going to America on holiday n was wondering if any1 could tell me wot settings to disable so i dnt use any internet but can still send/receive texts. Dont want a huge bill.
    Thanks in advance x
     

    Advertisement

  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    There's a "data roaming" option in your mobile network settings (when on your home screen, meu=>settings=>wireless and network settings=>mobile networks=>Data roaming)... I think that you should be set up so that it doesn't automatically allow it. On my DHD, it has to be ticked to allow data roaming... not sure if that's just the way it's set up on CM7 though!

    If you are worried, you could always speak to your mobile operator - they usually allow bolt ons that cover you when you are on holiday... they often work out not too bad!

    Hope this helps a little! :)
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,008
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,008
    9,641
    1,433
    UK
    Also make sure to disable 'data enabled' under the mobile network menu.
     

Share This Page

Loading...