1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Going to go with seredipity... Cant find a how-to?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by js593, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    I have 2.2 Froyo on my Rogers Captivate. Im looking to put Serendipity on my phone, hopefully without bricking it. Ive been looking around google, and this site for a complete how-to on flashing the rom. Ive already rooted my phone with Superclick, but from there, i dont know what to do next. Ive already downloaded the rom (Serendipity 6.4), and im downloading Odin cause im thinking i will probably need it. Drivers are already installed, and ive done a complete backup of my phone with Titanium Backup.

    So, from what ive done already, i think im at the point where i have to use Odin to downgrade to 2.1, and then flash Serendipity to the phone, is this correct?

    Hopefully you guys can help....
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

    narutoreplicate likes this.
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    avgazn91, narutoreplicate and js593 like this.
  3. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    Ive also found

    [GUIDE] How to Install a custom ROM - xda-developers

    Which may be of use. I seen that 7 was out, but i wasn't sure if i wanted to flash it since its just been released. Ive heard good things about both of them regardless.
    Will this method work in the link that i posted?
     
  4. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    The generalized guide should (could) be used as an adjunct to the developer's instructions, as the dev may have ROM-specific thoughts in mind. That said, you can't be too prepared.
     
  5. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    Thanks Jack.
    I'm downloading Installation.7z now. If i run into anything, I'll post back here immediately. Going off the Dev's instruction... They seem kinda vague for a beginner. Just dont wanna screw it up :)
     
  6. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    Rather than posting back here, I suggest the following two-step:

    1. Search for keywords related to any issues that present themselves within the dev's XDA forum. It's a comprehensive, focused body of knowledge.

    2. If you can't find what you're looking for (unlikely), post a question - but first identify yourself as noob so that you'll be ducking fewer brickbats.

    As fine a resource as Android Forums is, sometime a more direct approach is warranted.
     
    js593 likes this.
  7. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    Well, i just completed most of the stuff, but ive run into some strange issues. Titanium backup is crashing all the time, my firmware version now says 2.3.3 (which was expected) but most of all, my model number now says GT-I9000... This is NOT my phone... Was this not based on the I896? I also dont have access at all to 3g, or 4g. Did i download the wrong package?:thinking:

    Oh, and my home button doesnt work.....
     
  8. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
  9. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    Yes, ive tried to flash the rom itself, but for some reason the rom is not responsive. It takes about half a second, and then says its done. That doesnt make much sence to me since the file is about 140 mb's. When i enter Recovery mode, which it does just fine, it almost seems that nothing happens when i try and flash it.

    As for the 2nd item in the list, does this mean that this will not work? That i will have to look for another build? Or just go back to the stock Froyo 2.2?
     
  10. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    So you booted into CWM Recovery, navigated to the big ROM file now residing on your phone, selected it with your power button, and attempted to flash it?

    P.S. GT-I9000 = good.
     
  11. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    What do you mean residing on my phone? All it says in the instructions is to use the update.zip from the SD card....
     
  12. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    As I mentioned earlier in the thread, you should be referring (primarily) to: Download - Serendipity VII

    See instruction number 13.
     
  13. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    Yes, ive done that already. It comes up on my phone as Update.zip, and when i click on it it says Installing: sd card:update.zip Finding/openining/installing
    Successful
     
  14. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    That's where the word "navigate" comes in. I'm still on 6.4, but I'm assuming that the first item says "apply sdcard: update.zip." You need to scroll down one line using left button to "choose zip from sdcard," select it with the power button, and then locate the big ROM file that should be on your phone ready for action. Select it.
     
  15. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    From what i undersand the Rom.zip file they specify in number 13 should be the Serendipity 7 zip file, which is what was in my root. When i navigate to my sd card to read it, it says update.zip, but it does not say
    Serendipity_VII_Build_1.zip
    Which is what it should say.... If you click the update after, where does it put it on the phone? I cant seem to find it anywhere.
     
  16. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    Did you download it directly to your phone? If yes, then its temporary location is in a download folder determined by your browser. Move it to /sdcard.

    If you downloaded it to a PC or other computer, it needs to be transferred via USB cable to your phone's /sdcard folder.

    Forget "update.zip" - it's a distraction.

    If you have a file manager like ASTRO, use it as a file copier / mover, then confirm that the ROM resides where Recovery mode will find it...in /sdcard.
     
  17. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    I currently have it in my SD card, but when i navigate to the SD card, it doesnt show up. Maybe this is half the problem...?
     
  18. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    Not trying to be condescending here, but you should see the large ROM file in the phone's /sdcard folder. Have you confimed that it resides there? If so, it becomes a simple matter of correctly navigating to that folder within Recovery in order to select the file for action.

    The folder is actually referred to by file managers as /sdcard.
     
    js593 likes this.
  19. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    Wow, im such a dumbass. All this time, i kept looking for it in the external SD card. Gimme a second, its installing now.
     
  20. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    I was afraid of that. It's an easy mistake to make.
     
  21. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    This is freaky... Phone is talking to me now.... lol

    Thanks a ton Jack. greatly appreciated! :)
     
  22. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    Happy to have helped. Now you can toddle off to here: [ROM][2.3.3]
     
    js593 likes this.
  23. js593

    js593 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    68
    2
    36
    Okay... Onto another issue. Since my phoen is now fully operational, i have wireless working perfectly, however, my signal is crap! I cant even get 3G,im up and down on 2G, or no data at all. Sometimes, no bars. Right now inside my house, i have 2 bars, usually im sitting at full 3G, all bars. I seen on the Serendipity thread, some people are using different modems, I believe im currently on JV6, and i see most of these guys switched to JL2, how do i go about changing this?

    Scrap this question... Figured it out using Recovery. Got my 3g hspa back. Also downloading all the captivate modem's for when i go out of town. Thanks anywyas
     
  24. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    I personally changed to JK4, it has the best signal for me personally. but there is a thread at the top of the development subforum at xda which has a list of modems, you get them from there and flash them via CWM
     
  25. beatdroppah

    beatdroppah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    114
    10
    38
    Indiana
    yes you flash them just as if you were flashing a ROM or any .zip package
     

Share This Page

Loading...