1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Going to sell my captivate..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lawerence, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. lawerence

    lawerence Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Well, as the title reads I am thinking about selling my captivate. If I do I'll probably just dump it in craigslist, hopefully for 200+.

    I'm just kind of annoyed with all the little issues with it, and the gps issue.

    If I do sell it I will probably get the epic from sprint (as it has features they stripped from the captivate, and I've read that the gps problem isn't present in the epic) or I will forgo the galaxy line of phones entirely for a droidX.

    Not sure entirely what I'm going to do,i know other phones also have their share of issues also. I might sit on it, but the gps has put a burden on me as I'm going to be traveling alot more frequently and I don't want to get a standalone unit.
     

    Advertisement

  2. matt310

    matt310 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    29
    0
    15
  3. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    cool story bro
     
  4. JuneNYC

    JuneNYC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    86
    9
    16
    tell us what you are going to have for breakfast tomorrow.
     
  5. idilium

    idilium Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    89
    10
    18
    where is the violin music app when need it
     
  6. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    Played with my buddys driod x today for the first time. I don't know if it's his phone but the scrolling of the apps menu was not a smooth as the captivates. It had alot of lag when opening apps. But could be his phone though.
     
  7. wjkrysak

    wjkrysak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    40
    0
    15
    Male
    Atlanta, GA
    cya. wish the best. cheaha bill
     
  8. magnumrt562

    magnumrt562 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    562
    Go get an iphone4! They are radical.
     
  9. jrdoll28

    jrdoll28 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    what he said. it's got this multitasking thing now and apps!!!
     
  10. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    the X isnt as smooth, ive watched several videos on youtube comparing them and the X isnt nearly as smooth when web browsing and stuff
     
  11. Infinite-t

    Infinite-t Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    412
    74
    53
    And you felt the need to publicly announce this because.....?

    FYI
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-ca...-official-word-gps-problem-please-sticky.html
     
  12. DT

    DT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    783
    145
    93
    Owner, Senior Software Architect, V2N
    Vilano Beach, FL
    I'll give you a $100 for it right now. Seriously.
     
  13. Default63

    Default63 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    4
    0
    5
  14. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    $150.01 ebay style
     
  15. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    Meet me at the Pick N Save parking lot craigslist style
     
  16. DT

    DT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    783
    145
    93
    Owner, Senior Software Architect, V2N
    Vilano Beach, FL
    Holy hell, hahaha!
     
  17. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    haha sounds about right
     
  18. topshelf95

    topshelf95 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    53
    33
    23
    I just did this about 4 hours ago, took two minutes, my GPS works awesome. Follow the instructions very carefully. Only thing I noticed was the first time I tried it, my settings didn't save so when I rebooted, I thought the fix didn't work, but I went back into the settings and made the changes again and before I got out to reboot, I hit "get position test" and let it run for a few seconds before backing out and rebooting. Worked like a champ. Hope you have the same luck!


    Quick fix for GPS issues on your new Samsung Galaxy S series phone | Android Central
     
  19. lawerence

    lawerence Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Tried the fixes, and aware that samsung has a fix incoming. Unfortunately I couldn't wait. Put my cappy on craigslist last night, got four calls and sold it for 350 within an hour.
    Got an epic from a friend at sprint this morning. Thing locks onto gps quicker than my captivate ever did (when it actually worked). Other thing I really like about this phone is the flash, was desperately missing it on my cappy.

    all in all I love the epic, its what the captivate should have been.

    Also love the comments from everyone here, keep it up...guys gave me a great laugh.

    Oh and I had toast bacon and fruit for breakfast this morning, it was delicious.
     
  20. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    Personally, I'd rather have a phone with a GPS fix coming on a network that's nationwide with very little gaps.

    I've had Sprint before for a data card. You're fine if you only are ever going to be near major highways, but if you need to go somewhere in the boonies? Good luck. You might have GPS, but you won't have phone signal.

    But hey, if that makes you happy...all the more power to you.
     
  21. Dennis_Bham

    Dennis_Bham Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    156
    21
    38
    Lab Rat
    Alabama
    And it's got the 3Gs !!! :p
     
  22. lawerence

    lawerence Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Well the i4 does have hsdpa..enabled stock. Cappy does not I believe (only galaxy S phone not to have it active out of the box).

    But yea, I've had an i4 and much prefer android, even if its not a captivate that its running on.
     
  23. blackhemi

    blackhemi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    157
    8
    56
    Loganville, GA USA
    i was a bit torn on what to say, but really, you dont have the captivate anymore. got find the epic forum now. you will soon see issues there as well. I truly do with you the best of luck with sprint, I hear they are ok....

    ok ok, i lied. sprint will leave you hanging. get use to seeing roaming or data roaming on your screen. billing issues are the normal with them too.

    I do wish you the best of luck. maybe we will see you back again with another captivate.

    Peace dude
     
  24. Easilyamused

    Easilyamused Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    337
    147
    68
    Washington State
    without HSDPA capability you'd be on the edge network, not 3g. did you mean HSUPA (to support higher upload speeds)?

    and sprint? good luck.. you should've at least gone with verizon. at least their network doesn't totally suck..
     
  25. dantheman2

    dantheman2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    95
    5
    16
    Don't let the door hit ya where the good Lord split ya.
     

Share This Page

Loading...