1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Goldcard Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chaps1976, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. chaps1976

    chaps1976 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    8
    2
    6
    Sorry if this has been asked a million times before!

    I attempted to make a Goldcard last night all going well until this stage
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,110
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,110
    24,088
    3,118
    Scotland
    Welcome to AF! :)

    Unless things have changed, you don't need a goldcard to downgrade 2.50.405.2. It's unbranded software so should just accept the PD98IMG.zip file after the temp root commands.
     
    chaps1976 likes this.
  3. chaps1976

    chaps1976 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    8
    2
    6
    Thank you. I'll give it a try once get kids off to bed.

    Also thanks for the welcome,ill try keep stupid questions to a minimum!
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,110
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,110
    24,088
    3,118
    Scotland
    No probs, post if you get stuck.

    Re the stupid questions, that's what we're here for! :p
     
  5. frezzoed

    frezzoed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    im having 2.50.707.4 software number.do i need a goldcard???thanks for your help...;)
     
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,880
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,880
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
  7. frezzoed

    frezzoed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    another question i want to ask..what is the different between carrier branded & unbranded???is it still need a goldcard??sorry for asking,im confused...
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,110
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,110
    24,088
    3,118
    Scotland
    Carrier branded means it has apps and logos put on by the network you obtained the phone from. It can also refer to software that has been modified by HTC for release in a specific country.

    Unbranded means it's the generic worldwide release and is the base for all software versions. The unbranded software numbers are:

    1.32.405.6 (Android 2.2, Sense 2.0)
    1.72.405.3 (Android 2.2.1, Sense 2.0)
    2.36.405.2 (Android 2.3.3, Sense 2.1)
    2.50.405.2 (Android 2.3.3, Sense 2.1)
     
    frezzoed likes this.
  9. chaps1976

    chaps1976 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    8
    2
    6
    Only got round to trying again last night and managed downgrade and s-off, took lot more effort than remember with HTC Hero, although most were minor if annoying problems.
    Biggest challenges were:

    ADB
    Getting adb commands to run on my netbook as didn
     
  10. frezzoed

    frezzoed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    thanks for your info... :)
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,110
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,110
    24,088
    3,118
    Scotland
     
  12. chaps1976

    chaps1976 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    8
    2
    6
    Yeah got home deleted Rom Manager reinstalled and all worked fine,backed up 1.3.2, flashed Android Revolution 6.1.1 (seemed easier the CM7 at moment) all seems fine

    Just about update Radio to recommended 12.62.60.27_26.13.04.19_M although worried wont be able downgrade if ever need to

    Edit: radio flash went fine
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,110
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,110
    24,088
    3,118
    Scotland
    I think with ENG S-OFF, you can downgrade your radio too.

    From my understanding, it's not a major issue with AOSP ROMs as they don't contain a RIL so as long as you use a later radio than one they recommend, it's fine. Re Sense based ROMS, you can flash a RIL to match a radio if you're not using the one recommended by the dev.

    [RADIO][LATEST: 26.13.04.19] The HTC Desire HD Radio Thread - xda-developers

    There are a few threads there worth taking a look at.
     
  14. chaps1976

    chaps1976 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    8
    2
    6
    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...