1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Goldcard unlock with stock 2gb card?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by FrankTheTank, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. FrankTheTank

    FrankTheTank Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    56
    1
    26
    Got a rebel sim but I now want it properly unlocked from Orange UK. Followed the procedure to the letter from here:

    How To: Root Your MyTouch 3G (GoldCard Method) | The Unlockr

    with the exception of using an SD card reader and perhaps, not surprisingly, it wouldn't work (kept wanting to format SD) after doing the Hex editing - I did the hex editing via the USB cable. It's actually a very straightforward procedure (even for a complete simpleton like me) which I hope to complete later on using my mate's MicroSD card reader.

    Has anyone else had any luck with this method and if so was it using the stock 2gb card (apparently this method doesn't work with all SD cards)
     

    Advertisement

  2. FrankTheTank

    FrankTheTank Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    56
    1
    26
    ...oh and by the way, if I do have any luck, I'll be happy to write a full 'how to' if that would be any use for any other locked-in peeps. (Might undo some of the hatred for the poor man's iphone thread ;-) )

    :D
     
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    There's a thread here which seems to do it without a card reader. At least I could see no mention of one. How does it compare to the method you tried?
     
  4. FrankTheTank

    FrankTheTank Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    56
    1
    26
    Did it without a card reader - absolutely no joy.

    It let me load the ROM without a problem though- not been able to do that before - said customer ID problem before. However, took the rebelsim out and it still bloody asked me for a code. Bloody pissed off! Took me ages to return the phone to how it was. Had to re-root it again, then do a nandroid restore....Shan't be trying that again....Strange how others have had success with this method...:(
     
  5. globalm

    globalm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    34
    1
    16
    UK
    You do still need an unlock code. The struggle is only to get it into a state where it will acept one. The Orange unlock codes, which are particular to them, will not be given to you unless you have been with them three months and, in any case, a fault in the Orange ROM makes the unlocking, although apparently successful, fail. Hence you need a standard unlock code and a non-orange ROM.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...