1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support gona buy d3 but got one query

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aman321, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. aman321

    aman321 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    hi im gona get a d3 coz razr wont work in our country where m living in india i think...and my dads gona send me from usa...so

    ive one simple questoin tat will droid 3 work in india and droid 3 is gsm as far as i read...

    so hope ne one can help sort out my problem before buying this phone thx :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. glennj

    glennj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    129
    24
    38
    Short answer is no.

    The phone as sold in the USA cannot be activated on a foreign network without an unlock code. To get an unlock code that you can be sure will actually work, you have to get it from Verizon Wireless here in the USA. Unless you have been a good customer of theirs here in the USA for 6 months already, they will not give you an unlock code for your phone.

    There are ways around this, but they are not straight-forward. Check some related threads here and on XDA forums.

    Glenn
     
    aman321 likes this.
  3. aman321

    aman321 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    but im geting the unlock code then is it possbile?
     
  4. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    [​IMG]

    Depending upon what bands are in operation in India, that would determine your phone. But I'd suggest either of the Milestone 3 models, the Chinese one may be easier to get your hands on in India. They're both unlocked from the factory.
     
  5. alexmars

    alexmars Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 21, 2012

    May 21, 2012
    10
    0
    35
    Hiii

    Hope u got it worked out, but if some one is still loking for the answer then it's yes. Droid 3 works with GSM as well as with CDMA in india.
    I have a XT 862 & it's working very well on both network.
     
  6. argowal

    argowal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    It works, you only have to unlock it in a cell phone unlocker, its very easy. The unlock code is solf for around $20. I brought it to Chile (GSM/CDMA) and works perfectly.
     
  7. argowal

    argowal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Also, get it directly from motorola, it is cheaper that way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...