1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Good for Enterprise

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nicke5012, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. nicke5012

    nicke5012 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Has anyone used Good for Enterprise on a rooted phone? My company's now mandating we use this to access our corporate email, and they mentioned we couldn't use it with rooted phones. Does anyone know what'll happen if I try to install Good on a rooted phone? Or, could I re-root after I install Good?

    Also, if I have to unroot, will Titanium Backup still maintain the frozen state of my Verizon bloatware? Otherwise I should be able to just use Root Explorer and rename the .apk files, right?

    Thanks, this forum's been a great resource.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    775
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    775
    175
    93
    I work in an office. It has a window, but it isn't
    In a house, near some mountains.
    i dont see why it wouldnt work with the phone rooted. but i'm not going to commit to that.

    i dont see why TiBu wouldnt maintain the frozen apps either. but, if it doesnt, you wont be able to re-name them with root explorer, because root explorer requires root.
     
  3. finaticmw

    finaticmw Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    31
    2
    16
    IT
    Saint Augustine Fl
    Im using a rooted Droidx with good for company email and it hasn't missed a step.
     
  4. nicke5012

    nicke5012 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    So I just installed Good on my rooted Droid X and I guess it can detect if it's rooted. It gives me a "Compliance Check Failed" popup and tells me to contact my IT administrator. It's not letting me do anything. Any thoughts? Well, rooting was fun while it lasted.
     
  5. apinkel

    apinkel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    404
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    404
    99
    53
    That is not good (no pun intended).

    I've got an X that I'm running on Cricket and it requires root to be able to configure web access. Our company is going to be moving to Good For Enterprise so I may have to give up my X and buy one of the Cricket entry level androids. Bummer.

    I'm wondering if that is a per-site policy restriction that hopefully won't be applied at the company I work for.
     
  6. santoro

    santoro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    I found a 'solution.'

    I am successfully running Good for Enterprise on Cyanogenmod 6.1, but it took some work. I used adb shell to rename su and Superuser.apk on the phone, then rebooted. After the reboot, I don't have root anymore. In an emergency I can rename them the superuser files back using rageagainsthecage but I probably won't do it often.

    This is a compromise, but at least I don't have to give up that CM6 goodness just to use my corporate email.

    So far I have not seen any issues in CM6 resulting from not having root.
     
  7. santoro

    santoro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    BTW you can't reroot after install, it checks upon every launch and locks you out.
     
  8. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    I'm in the same boat as you but don't at all mind relinquishing root as long as I can continue to run cyanogen.

    What should I rename the su and superuser.apk to?

    Thanks
     
  9. santoro

    santoro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    It doesn't matter much, I rename su to su.bak, and Superuser.apk to Superuserapk.bak, but you can use whatever is easy to remember in case you need to rename them back.
     
  10. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    When you run a rooted app and it asks if you want to give permission, what if you just denied it to good?
     
  11. santoro

    santoro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Good doesn't ask for root in order for me to deny it. Best I can tell it checks for the mere existence of those two files and refuses access to the app if either or both exist.
     
  12. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    oh....my job is starting to move to Good also :(
     
  13. santoro

    santoro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    I confirmed with my IT guys that it is a company policy-based restriction. If you are lucky your company may be more lenient with regard to rooted devices. One of the posters above had no issue with his rooted device.
     
  14. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    im trying to find out how to install the right softwared package to run an adb shell but to no avail so far. i have the android sdk but there's no shell that I can find...
     
  15. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    ok im in the shell... what commands do i execute to rename the two files? I don't see them when I "ls -l" so i think they are in another directory. if you can tell me where to look and what commands to issue that would be great. in the meantime i'll keep researching. thanks
     
  16. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    cd /system/bin
    rm superuser.apk
    rm su
     
  17. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    i dont want to remove the files though, right? i want to only rename them so i shouldnt use the rm command but mv instead right?

    i went to that directory and see a lot of files when i ls-l but do not see su or superuser.apk. are they hidden files?

    btw i have s-off permanently engaged in the radio having used unrevoked latest version... maybe i don't have an su file?
     
  18. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    SU is in /system/xbin and you do rm su su.bak
    Superuser.apk is in /system/app and do rm superuser.apk superuser.bak
     
  19. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    If you loose Root, would you be able to rename the superuser apps back? I doubt that you would since those files are in the systems section where you cannot access with the regular file explorer.

    I think if you need root back, you'll have to go through the normal root procedures as if you never had root to begin with. If this is true, then it doesn't matter if you remove the files or rename them. It will still require going through the same root process.
     
  20. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    ok im there but now when i issue a write command i get the message "can't create 'xxx': read-only file system"

    how do I overcome this?

    thanks
     
  21. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    figured it out nm. started with the adb remount command
     
  22. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    all is well now. but for my reference for the future, if i want to re-obtain root, how do i do this without running unrevoked again?

    can i no longer shell into the device and rename su and superuser.apk back now that i am not rooted?
     
  23. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    Just realized something. Can't I use the file manager application to rename the two files? This would allow for easy su on and off privileges.
     
  24. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    If you rename the files you no longer have root, therefore you cannot name that back which is originally why i said just delete them instead of rename them.
     
  25. ashmostro

    ashmostro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    Ah. Got it. Didn't get that inference.
     

Share This Page

Loading...