1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Good video of "Carrier IQ"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Oldschoolwax, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. Oldschoolwax

    Oldschoolwax Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    180
    30
    43
    Artist
    New York

    Advertisement

  2. Blue1k

    Blue1k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    608
    190
    93
    Teacher/Web Design
    Cloverdale, BC
    Thanks for the link. Glad we don't have this in Canada. At least officially even though the framework is still present in the Telus model.
     
  3. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
    First - THANK YOU for posting this video! There should be a link to this thread in the main Android forum, and it should really be made into a sticky.

    Secondly - why can't a rooted phone remove Carrier IQ? :thinking:
     
  4. Oldschoolwax

    Oldschoolwax Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    180
    30
    43
    Artist
    New York
    You are quite welcome! ;) You would need to change the rom, there are some stock that have all the junk and CIQ removed. As well as completely aftermarket.
     
  5. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
    Are you sure? I thought I read somewhere that people can remove it with Titanium Backup Pro.

    Do you mean that (unlocked) phones purchased off the web do not have Carrier IQ?
     
  6. Oldschoolwax

    Oldschoolwax Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    180
    30
    43
    Artist
    New York
    Sorry, I should have been more clear. TBP can "Freeze" CIQ, but will not remove it from the device.

    When I said "aftermarket" I was referring to other than modded stock ROMs. :)
     
  7. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
    OK, THANKS for the clarification Oldschoolwax :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...