1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root good wifi tethering app

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by samuel357, Jul 9, 2011.

  1. samuel357

    samuel357 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    whats a good app for wifi tethering on a rooted commando? total newbie here just got it rooted and the bloatware removed via titanium
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,189
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,189
    35,835
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Which version of Android do yu have? With 2.2 and above, tethering is included.
     
  3. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    For rooted devices I like this one:

    code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/



    It is very stable and works well with this phone. The only downside is it currently does not support infrustructure mode with our phones. Not an issue for connecting a computer, but if you are wanting to connect other phones, tablets or gaming systems you won't be able to because it only supports ad-hoc mode.

    If you do tether a rooted device without paying for the feature it may be technically thieft of service, it will violate your terms of service, and it could result it Verizon canceling your service. Has anyone ever heard of this actually happening?
     
  4. samuel357

    samuel357 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    @lunatic59 is tethering only included as a paid feature or can you activate it without having to pay? i have 2.2


    @rjglen thanks i'll check it out
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,189
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,189
    35,835
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Go to menu>settings>wireles & networks and see if there is an option there for tethering and hotspots. You could enable it from there. Be advised that if you enable tethering AND your carrier requires a tethering plan, they can add it to your bill as soon as they determine you are tethering to your phone.

    If it's not there, then you should contact the carrier and find out what their options are.
     
  6. callmecolt

    callmecolt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    119
    5
    36
    I use Open Garden WiFi Tether. It was very simple to setup and works good. I have not tried to connect more than one computer to it yet, but don't see why it would not work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...