1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Goodbye, google assistant

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Rgarner, Apr 16, 2019.

  1. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #136
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    827
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    827
    71
    98
    How do I disable google assistant? It keeps bothering me when I accidentally press the wrong button. I figured I could stop it through the S5's app manager, but it isn't listed, even with system apps showing.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dontpanicbobby

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    13,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    13,901
    8,762
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    You could tape over that button.
     
    Snakeyeskm likes this.
  3. dontpanicbobby

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    13,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    13,901
    8,762
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    I've got the physical Google Assistants. Both Google and Google Mini.
    I usually use my voice so I do not want to turn Google Assistant off.
    When I use my phones I don't want to turn Google Assistant off either.
    I like that app
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,591
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,591
    17,402
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I don't know about the S5, but I'd start by looking in your Google settings - or maybe even ask Assistant how to turn it off?

    (I thought I'd be able to spot it in my settings, though I've a different phone, but I've actually turned it off so thoroughly that I can't easily find the setting to enable it: though I suspect that if I turned on a shortcut like the "active edge" or voice input it would pop up. I do remember that when I turned it off it took a while going through my Google settings finding all of the various data collection options that had been enabled en masse when I turned it on and remained active when I turned it off...).
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  5. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,492
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,492
    4,002
    1,143
    i think.. it is baked in...
    so.. you just need to learn .. NOT to push that button.
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,591
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,591
    17,402
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I've got it completely disabled on a Pixel 2, a device Google sold with the expressed purpose of pushing Assistant. So it would be weird if you couldn't turn it off on an S5.

    And on the S5 isn't "the button" going to be the Home button? There's no Bixby button on that model.
     
    dontpanicbobby likes this.
  7. PitCarver

    PitCarver Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    963
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    963
    975
    203
    Male
    Retired
    South Carolina
    You've just got to learn not to long press the home button. Aggregating not being able to disable it.
    Even though I have the dedicated button, on my V40, disabled, if I long press the home button, it still pops up.
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,591
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,591
    17,402
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If I long press the home button on my Pixel a white circle appears, but that's all (it used to prompt me to turn Assistant back on).

    Still can't quite remember what I did, but looking through my settings I do seem to have disabled the Google app, which may be the answer (Assistant is part of that, so with it disabled there really is nothing for it to show). I did have Assistant disabled before, probably in the settings of this app (I'm not going to re-enable it to check).

    Of course if you actually use the Google search bar or anything like that this solution might not be for you. I've always taken the attitude that I can use a browser if I want to search for something, so don't need a search bar cluttering my desktop, and decided that between not using the widget and not using Assistant I didn't need the Google app at all.
     
  9. Frank Provasek

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018

    Jun 16, 2018
    3
    6
    16
    Male
    Engineer
    Fort Worth, TX
    On my Android 7.1.1

    Open Google app / . . . More (lower RIGHT) / Settings / Google Assistant / Assistant / scroll down to Assistant Devices / select Phone / move Google Assistant switch to OFF
    What a very long sequence to turn this annoyance off. And the Google staff has started acting like Microsoft...Well.....you CAN turn Google Assistant off, but WHY WOULD ANYONE WANT TO? Followed by incorrect instructions.
     
    MoodyBlues, Hadron and Rgarner like this.
  10. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #136
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    827
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    827
    71
    98
    Hey, thanks for that tip, and I just used it. I probably wouldn't have guessed that sequence. Have a great day!
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,591
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,591
    17,402
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I agree completely, apart from the word "started".
    In fact these days I'd say that Google behave more like the Microsoft of old than Microsoft themselves do.
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  12. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,617
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,617
    3,065
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    The same steps work on my 8.0.0.
    Thank you for posting this! :)
    You're not kidding.
    Oh my...
     
    Hadron and Rgarner like this.
  13. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #136
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    827
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    827
    71
    98
    Apparently it works for 6.0.1 as well. Here's a little googoo anecdote for you: we recently found a cool game called blendoku. It's a puzzle about getting colored tiles in the right order. What's not cool is the intrusive advertising. Today when I was doing the google "privacy check", including opting out of letting them and their partners do some financial spying(!), I found THEIR OWN alert about the game because it's connected to THEIR OWN google games network or whatever it's called. Naturally I took their wonderful advice and (I hope) disconnected from the advertising and other things that might be wrong with it. It seems that facebook is getting most of the bad press these days, and deservedly, but let's not forget these nosy jerks.
     
  14. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #136
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    827
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    827
    71
    98
    Even when it's "gone", this socalled assistant is still there. I was trying to take a screenshot but that apparently has stopped working and instead I get the crappy assistant urging me to turn it on, no thanks. Why would screenshot stop working? I know it's different on the S5, the bottom button and the on/off on the left side. How do I make it work again, and get rid of "assistant" for real?
     
  15. PitCarver

    PitCarver Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    963
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    963
    975
    203
    Male
    Retired
    South Carolina
    Rgarner likes this.
  16. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #136
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    827
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    827
    71
    98
    I downloaded that but I have no idea how to use the screenshot function. Also, I'm being inundated with ads. How do I get rid of them and do screenshots with smart touch?
     
  17. PitCarver

    PitCarver Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    963
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    963
    975
    203
    Male
    Retired
    South Carolina
    Never had an issue with excessive adds using smart touch.

    Just need to enable it and set it up the way you like. Then when you open it and simply tap screen shot. Pics will appear in a smart touch screenshot folder, not in a system screen shot folder.
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  18. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #136
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    827
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    827
    71
    98
    I figured out part of it. It seems the off button on the right side of the case has somehow become frozen. I guess that means that besides the screenshot problem I can no longer shut off the phone officially. It's no big deal because all I have to do is take out the S5's battery or wait for it to fall out on its own, which probably shouldn't take more than a day or 2, because there's no back on it. It's amazing how the original owner could have it in that case for years and it was fine but when I bought it of course all hell broke loose. Is there some way to remove the case and (I hope) make the underlying off button great again? What's a Bixby button?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. PitCarver

    PitCarver Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    963
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    963
    975
    203
    Male
    Retired
    South Carolina
    You need a back.
    Might still have one in my box of parts.

    I'll check when we get back.
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  20. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #136
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    827
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    827
    71
    98
    Thanks, I really appreciate that. Then I have to figure out how to fix the off button. I don't know why I keep having all these problems but I guess that's life.
     
  21. vince20191

    vince20191 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Monday

    Monday
    2
    1
    5
    Thanks but doesn't work, I know how to turn it off I need to kill it. I use a long press on the home button and power button for screen shots, which I do often. It just keeps coming back asking to be turned on.
     
    Rgarner likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...