• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Google App immediately opens Google Chrome

M

Member2021378

So I just recently switched from iOS to android and like 5 days after buying it I've been having a problem, whenever I want to search using Google App's search, it instantly redirects me to Google Chrome. I even went into the Google settings (Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow) and it redirects me to chrome even so. This is REALLY annoying. I am no android expert so I don't really know how to disable that, so I need your help guys. I mean even OK google doesn't work because it redirects me.

I am using a Samsung Galaxy J7, Android 6.0.1. Updated yesterday (16 July 2017)

So I just recently switched from iOS to android and like 5 days after buying it I've been having a problem, whenever I want to search using Google App's search, it instantly redirects me to Google Chrome. I even went into the Google settings (Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow) and it redirects me to chrome even so. This is REALLY annoying. I am no android expert so I don't really know how to disable that, so I need your help guys. I mean even OK google doesn't work because it redirects me.

I am using a Samsung Galaxy J7, Android 6.0.1. Updated yesterday (16 July 2017)

Calm down it nothing unusual because Chrome browser is set as your default browser and they are one in same. The home screen search bar by Google is just an extension to Google Chrome. Now you always have the option of installing another browser like Foxfire, Dolphin, Puffin etc. And can use either one of them as your default browser. But as long as you use Google home screen search bar it's going to open Chrome browser to assist you in your searches.

Upvote 0