1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Google Apps Help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HTC Bencredible, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. HTC Bencredible

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Akron, Ohio
    I just got CM7 up and running, but didn't elect to download the google apps at the same time:rolleyes:. When I go into ROM manager to download ROMs, I just get a pop-up that says to update ROM manager to the newest version, then it promtly force closes. I cant set-up any accounts through the exchange, and there is no Market. Where do I start to move past these seemingly trivial issues?
     

    Advertisement

  2. imp81318

    imp81318 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    18
    3
    16
    Have you tried using your internet browser to go to the CyanogenMod7 website (CyanogenMod 7 for the HTC Incredible :: V7.1.0 (9 Oct 2011) - CyanogenMod Forum) and using the links there to download the zip files? That's what I did, but I don't have any problems with Rom Manager force closing. I also just switched to CM7 today at lunchtime.

    I am having a related problem so I'll post it in here rather than start a new thread for it: I also did not download the google apps at the same time as CM7. I have since downloaded the zip file for the Google Apps, but I'm not sure how to install the apps from that zip file?

    Nevermind on my question, I figured it out I think- just reboot into recovery using Rom Manager and install zip file from SD card.
     
  3. HTC Bencredible

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Akron, Ohio
    Thank you, I figured it out a bit ago. I have never done any of this before, and I get a little freaked out when things don't work the way I think they are supposed to. On a side note, does anyone know how to add an applications button to the shortcut bar at the bottom of the screen?
     
  4. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    Assuming you're using the stock launcher in CM7, it's the middle bottom. That looks like a grid of boxes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...