1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google calendar to new phone might deleted

Discussion in 'Google' started by Julai, Sep 11, 2019.

  1. Julai

    Julai Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019

    Sep 11, 2019
    1
    0
    15
    I synced my Google calendar from my old phone (S8+) to my new phone (Note 10+) and everything went fine.

    My dilemma now is, if I reformat my old phone (since I'll be selling it) will my Google calendar to my new phone disappear or were all going to be deleted since both are linked together?

    And how can i avoid that from happening?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dannydet

    Dannydet Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    918
    Posts:
    5,375
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    5,375
    3,526
    918
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    Remove your account from the old device. No harm no foul.
     
  3. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,105
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,105
    10,761
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Your Google Calendar is synced to The Cloud - you can access it at https://calendar.google.com/calendar/r. When you synced it to your new device, all you did was grant the new device access to the calendar events which were already stored in The Cloud.

    As @Dannydet says, you can safely remove your Google account and wipe your old device. Your calendar events will be safe in The Cloud.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,798
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,798
    19,252
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    But please note the exact words that our friends used here: remove the account. And do this before wiping the phone.

    This is not to protect your calendar, it makes no difference there if you remove the account from the phone or just reset it. But it's to avoid problems with factory reset protection: if you leave the account on and reset the phone the buyer will find that they need to use your Google account to get back into it! So to avoid an irate buyer having to ask you your login details or returning the phone you should remove the account first.
     
    codesplice and MoodyBlues like this.

Share This Page

Loading...