1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Google Ears Widget (closed, market app)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by K Rize, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. K Rize

    K Rize Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012

    Dec 21, 2012
    512
    215
    93
    Male
    New Jersey
    IMG_20130122_222224.jpg
    Google Ears Music Widget:

    http://db.tt/5a12S9rK

    1. Download Google_Ears.zip (not flashable)
    2. Move .zip to sdcard (skip this step if downloading to phone)
    3. Use Root Explorer, ES or any other Root file Browser to unzip folder
    4. Move GoolgeEars.apk to system/app and fix permissions to (rw-r--r--)
    5. Move libvorbisencoder.so to system/lib and fix permissions to (rw-r--r--)
    6. Reboot & Enjoy

    To Remove Google Ears:
    1. Delete GoogleEars.apk from system/app
    2. Delete libvorbisencoder.so from system/lib
    3. Reboot
     

    Advertisement

    dibblebill and db2 like this.
  2. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    I did this about the end of last week, but didn't use the libvorbisencoder.so library, still worked. Do you know what advantage there is to vorbis encoding, or if GoogleEars.apk definitely uses it?
     
  3. K Rize

    K Rize Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012

    Dec 21, 2012
    512
    215
    93
    Male
    New Jersey
    yeah it uses the lib, i tried Ears from a gapps package and it wouldn't start up, kept forcing close until i used it.
    after it worked for about a week i updated the apk, and left the .lib
    still haven't had any problems, or feed back
    but yes the lib was needed for the first in stall.
    i have not tested the update without the lib file as of yet

    if it works for you without the lib, that great
     
  4. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    I actually got this widget straight through the App Store... Not sure how, but it seems to be related to the fact I had to download an update for it on my modified Acer tablet. Sometimes, the widget just never seems to fail OR succeed, though, simply cycling through the busy indicator.
     
  5. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    it worked for me, try installing it to /system/app like in the OP.
     
    dibblebill likes this.
  6. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    I'll give it a shot. It does succeed at times, but its mostly just inconsistent.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...