1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Maps 4.4.0

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Outatime, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #110
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    Update now in the Market.
     

    Advertisement

  2. blackvyper

    blackvyper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    170
    17
    38
    Regensburg, Germany
    Worthless until they store maps on SD.
     
  3. GTCharged

    GTCharged Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    33
    3
    36
    Unemployed
    Detroit, MI
    Agreed. Too little actual phone memory.

    BTW. Haben sie gut Deutsch sprechen? Ich lerne immer noch.
     
  4. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    Wie lange haben Sie gelernt?
     
  5. cr0wnest

    cr0wnest Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    154
    8
    36
    Student
    Singapore
    I wonder whats keeping google from shifting their own apps into SD. Earth takes up 20MB!!
     
  6. Wwwi7891

    Wwwi7891 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I have an HTC incredible, ever since I updated to 4.4 the call button is grayed grayed out for every single business I click on. A few other Incredible owners have said they had this problem, any ideas?
     
  7. cr0wnest

    cr0wnest Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    154
    8
    36
    Student
    Singapore
    Go and try "uninstall updates" for the maps and see if it helps?
     
  8. Wwwi7891

    Wwwi7891 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I reverted it and rebooted a couple times, it works, but it still means I'm stuck using an outdated version.
     
  9. Boodies

    Boodies Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    47
    2
    16
    man all you peeps just need a new phone. get the Samsung Vibrant like I did, it has 2 gig app memory on it's 16 gig internal storage along with a 2 gig microsd. It's going to have a big dev support as well.
     
  10. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    You've got that backward.

    Plus, some of us don't need a new phone. Rocking Froyo on the Nexus One right here, apps2sd and all. :)
     
  11. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    The original google places directory no longer works. This added a new places icon. Are we supposed to uninstall places directory or should both still work?
     
  12. Maris

    Maris Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    188
    24
    58
    Ohio
    Thanks for pointing out the Places add-on. I didn't even notice it when I upgraded. That's a very handy app and extremely fast. The only thing missing for me was a movie theaters button, but it allowed me to add one and now it's perfect.
     
  13. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Places directory was updated so it works again. It's still got a bit more than this new places, but seems silly that they have 2 apps with such similar purposes.
     
  14. appleaj

    appleaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    440
    55
    73
    Mechanical Engineer
    USA
    I agree lexluthor, they should just replace "Places" with "Places Directory".

    Does anyone know if you can post reviews off of Places?
     
  15. tvpirate

    tvpirate Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Ever since updating to 4.40 the Maps service keeps showing up in my Task Manager by itself. It's not Latitude either cos I've set it to logged out. Anyone have any idea? Could it be some kind of service for the new Places?
     
  16. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    Adding new buttons is only half of it. The other half - the one that lets you delete some of the buttons it installs with - is still missing. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...