1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

google maps and droid overseas?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oceanlight, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. oceanlight

    oceanlight Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    339
    8
    36
    USA
    ok i'm 99% sure google maps on droid won't work in other countries, but just wanted to check.

    specifically, brazil.

    thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. 747tech

    747tech Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    31
    0
    15
    I am currently in Rwanda and the answer here is NO.
    I think the phone needs a data connection to load maps.
    It has not worked for me.
     
  3. Eugene

    Eugene Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    781
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    781
    41
    68
    Male
    Thats the issue, you need CMDA data or wireless to download the google maps but the GPS should work fine.
    I found an app called mapdroyd that lets you download from openstreetmap.org ahead of time.
     
  4. oceanlight

    oceanlight Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    339
    8
    36
    USA
    thanks much. i'll check out mapdroyd.
     
  5. jamo

    jamo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    310
    39
    43
    Educator
    SC
    I'd also like to know if anyone has used MapDroyd, and how well it has worked. I will be going over to Paris and London in a month or so and would love to have some city maps to take with me. Also, the GPS will work without data, right?
     
  6. oceanlight

    oceanlight Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    339
    8
    36
    USA
    ok i installed mapdroyd. it's not great but not bad. as far as i can tell the only functionality it has is that it shows you where you are, which is certainly better than nothing. i only played with it for a few minutes so maybe there is more to it.
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Yup. You can always test with airplane mode.

    IIRC Copilot stores its maps on the SD card so you don't need data to navigate.
     
  8. oceanlight

    oceanlight Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    339
    8
    36
    USA
    holy moley $35 for copilot...
     
  9. Kitesurfer

    Kitesurfer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    50
    15
    18
    maps worked in aruba. i would get an app for it though just incase, because some areas had spotty coverage, and when your in another country you usually dont stop and ask for directions
     

Share This Page

Loading...