1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Google Maps force-closing since recent update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by netizenmt, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    Has anyone else had any problem with Google Maps forceclosing since the last update? I've tried clearinf cache and Dalvik cache, uninstalling and reinstalling but to no avail. I'm wondering what else to try. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. JJJandJ

    JJJandJ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    IT Manager
    Northern, NH
    I have the same issue and I have tried the same steps as you and it keeps happing.
     
  3. d0nd0n

    d0nd0n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    55
    7
    16
    N/A
    Ohio
    I have the same problem!
     
  4. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    1,005
    234
    143
    Rubber Duck Salesman
    Chattanooga, TN
    Great I just updated it.:mad:
     
  5. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,822
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,822
    501
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    I was having FC issues to. I restored a nandroid I made before I updated to get the old version back.
    It seems everyone posting this is on Velocity 1.1. It would be nice to hear from someone not running Velocity 1.1 to see if they are having this issue?
     
  6. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    I am running Velocity 1.1 with the 2.2 hack. I copied the maps.apk out of the OTA.Zip for Velocity 1.1 and my Maps is working ok now, so it's definitely a problem with the updated Maps version.
     
  7. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    Also I just checked the comments in the Market and a bunch of users are reporting the same issue with various phones. So there you go.
     
  8. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,822
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,822
    501
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    I guess this isn't a Velocity issue then!!:)
     
  9. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
  10. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,822
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,822
    501
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    Oops, never mind
     
  11. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az

    Cant do antyhing right dautley!
     
  12. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,822
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,822
    501
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    No sigh:(! I thought I had a solution for this but no sooner than I posted it the FC errors started back:eek:
     
  13. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az

    And now maps laughs at you. hahaha

    I still havent gotten any FC's. Im have 5.2.1 Maybe google maps thinks you are going behind its back with another maps app!
     
  14. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,822
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,822
    501
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    No FC's with 5.5.0 either, only 5.6.0.
     
  15. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az

    Odd, mine wasnt showing an update. I had just recently reflashed velocity.

    After downloading it 3 times it finally updated and guess what, force close, force close, force close!
     
  16. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,822
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,822
    501
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    I flashed back to stock 2.2.2 and no more FC's which brings me back to maybe something in Velocity 1.1??
     
  17. CycleFreakLS

    CycleFreakLS Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Does anybody have a backup copy of 5.5? 5.6 is just a total piece of crap ...
    (1) keyboard freeze [hard keys, soft keys]
    (2) runs automatically on startup
    (3) locks the droid x
    (4) causes reboot
     
  18. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    I don't think so though. Other phone brands are also having FC issues with 5.6.0
     
  19. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,822
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,822
    501
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    It looks like Turning off the "Use wireless networks" setting in Locations & Security works so link to older version removed.
     
    netizenmt likes this.
  20. netizenmt

    netizenmt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    490
    111
    88
    Technical Support
    Mansfield, OH
    Yes, that one works great! Thanks!
     
  21. jhcii

    jhcii Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    189
    22
    38
    Working my butt off
    Middle Georgia USA
    Just tried to download the update of maps (5.7.0) that came out a few ago. It comes up with update of "google maps" unsuccessful. The error is Installation error - Package file is invalid. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  22. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,822
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,822
    501
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    tried 5.7.0, still getting FC error
    Exception class name
    Java.lang.NoSuchMethodError

    Source class
    com.google.android.location.os.real.SdkSpecific9

    I have a sneaky suspicion this might have something to do with Velocity which is 2.2.1 reporting itself as 2.2.2 to get around the system update prompts but just a guess, I'm the first to admit I don't know for sure.
     
  23. jhcii

    jhcii Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    189
    22
    38
    Working my butt off
    Middle Georgia USA

    Also as a side note - I downloaded this update using wi-fi, after it downloaded and tried to install wi-fi was off and 3g back on. I checked and wi-fi was supposed to be on so I had to turn it off and back on for wi-fi to start again. I should have a "good" install of velocity 1.1 as I reset to factory, then wiped cache, then wiped dalvik before installing velocity 1.1.
    It has never done this before, and now only does it if a download/install from market fails with the Package file is invalid error. Any ideas? Is there a way for them to "see" or check that your phone is rooted during the install and have the program fail to install? Just wondering...
     
  24. PolishPauL

    PolishPauL Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    74
    4
    16
    I had same problem but eventually it worked with enough tries. Still having the force close issue though.
     
  25. radiowackoman

    radiowackoman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    I am running V1.1 with the most recent scripts, and have used Maps once, Navigation once and Places twice. No FC's at all. I will note, however, that the last time I had Velocity on my phone (v0.4) any application that used Maps - Navigation, Places, etc. - would either FC or lag to the point of causing the phone to reboot.

    I will try using Maps later on, and if it gives me trouble, I will let you all know.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...