1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google maps getting too big

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by jaybo1973, May 30, 2011.

  1. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Hi

    Don't get of wrong, Google maps is awesome. I use it all the time to get around. But all the pointless updates, are making it massive. A great update would be off road data, but all the check in stuff should be optional. will they ever allow us to move part of it to SD?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,461
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,461
    5,683
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Mine's already on SDcard. :D

    Been there since 2.2.

    Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage applications > All > Maps > Move to SD
     
  3. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    It's size is comparable with other Maps/SatNav packages.
    For example Maps is about 10MB, wile Copilot takes about 24MB on my phone.
    Not a problem for me though, as I have enough storage space. :)
     
  4. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Not on mine. The option is grayed out
     
  5. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    Which phone do you have? Which Android OS version?
    I can also move the Maps to SD card (HTC Desire with Android v2.3).
     
  6. HunterBrooke

    HunterBrooke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    109
    7
    36
    Me, too. ThunderBolt. v2.2.1.
     
  7. Pinmac1

    Pinmac1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #155
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    526
    38
    88
    UK
    I just had a look at mine and Move to SD card is greyed out. Is there a way to make it able to be transferred? Also, it was showing as 2.83Mb application and 2.45MB data and a total of 5.27Mb. I realised that there was an update available. When I updated it shows as 9.93Mb application, 2.54Mb data for a total of 12.47Mb. The Market shows it as 6.09Mb! I've uninstalled the updates.
    My ROM, which had been showing as 38Mb prior to updating, went down to 32Mb after installation and then back up to 46Mb after I had uninstalled the update!!!
     
  8. Pinmac1

    Pinmac1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #155
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    526
    38
    88
    UK
    Meant to say HTC Desire 2.2 unrooted.
     
  9. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    HTC desire. 2.2. Not rooted
     
  10. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    In your phones, Maps is probably pre-installed (system application). On my phone, it was installed later as a user application.
    I guess that is the difference.


    There is a method to force applications to be moved to SD card for unrooted phones.
    Those who are brave enough may check it out here: http://androidforums.com/desire-tip...ed-device-noobs-guide-updated-09-02-11-a.html

    Otherwise, read about rooting and you may find it a better solution to free internal memory.
     
    jaybo1973 and Pinmac1 like this.
  11. Pinmac1

    Pinmac1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #155
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    526
    38
    88
    UK
    Thanks, Usta, I think you're right about the pre-installation. I have actually done as detailed in the thread you linked to and it has freed up a lot of memory for me (was down to 13Mb!).
     
  12. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    I'm still not brave enough after 8 months for the link or rooting :(
     
  13. Pinmac1

    Pinmac1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #155
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    526
    38
    88
    UK
    Jaybo, not brave enough myself for rooting but I don't think that you can damage your phone with the thread linked to. It really does help free up space.
     
  14. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    For rooted users, you can use Titanium Pro to move about anything to the card. I have not tried the Maps app because it is a pre-installed system app on my phone (Optimus M) and I was kind of worried it might mess it up. Now that I know others have moved it, I might give it a try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...