1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google maps latest version for GS2 with precaching

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by shikobur, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. shikobur

    shikobur Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Why me ??????
    I'm the number 1 user of Google maps of all times !! :)
    listen to that, and help me to get out of my suffering..

    I found out that the version of Google Maps on my GS2 is 5.2.1 , and it isn't the latest..:thinking:

    On the Market, I can't find any google maps App. as if it does exist..

    I just brought the GS2, and I had a HTC Desire with better Google Map version, with precaching capabilities & many Labs options (on the GS2 I have only 2)

    Does somebody knows how to update it ? (no, can't find it on "My Apps" on the market, or on search..)

    Thanks !

    Shikobur
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaWeav

    DaWeav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    343
    53
    53
    Lemoore, CA
    Well, not to change the subject and totally confuse this issue, I have both an Sprint HTC Hero (1st gen), and a Sprint HTC Evo Shift. I've downloaded Google Maps on both android phones and it reports the same 5.9 core version, but I only see the 'pre-caching' feature available on the Evo Shift, and not on the Hero. So, there even seems to be different flavors of same version of Google Maps depending on the platform it is loaded on. In fact the Google Maps labs feature for 'bigger text' is available on the Evo Shift and not on the Hero. I don't get it.
     
  3. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    I believe the latest version is 5.9. That's what I have.

    Did you search for it using just "maps"?

    Alternatively, when in the market, go to "my apps." Yeah, they cleverly hid it in the menu in in the new version of market. It used to be on the screen. There you should see the update at the top of the list of your apps along with everything else that needs updating.

    Are you rooted?
     
  4. shikobur

    shikobur Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Well.. yes, it's hidden, can see it, can't find it at any kind of search..
    Even tried a search on the web, at Google, found a link to that product, through the Market, but when I try to get into it, it say "Not found" ..

    I don't know what is "rooted" ? and I thought I know a thing or 2 about technology..
    So, what's that ? ))
     
  5. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    If an app exists in the Android Market when you check on your computer, but doesn't show up when you check on your phone/tablet, that means that the app won't work either with your hardware or your version of Android.

    You haven't told us what device and version of the OS you're using, so until you do that's the most likely explanation.

    If you're familiar with the Dark Side, rooting Android is what's referred to on the Iphone as a "jailbreak" -- more or less.

    There are plenty of threads on here about rooting. In the forum for your device here, look at the top of the page for "All Things Root."
     

Share This Page

Loading...