1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google maps/latitude and GPS problems...

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by utoypia, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. utoypia

    utoypia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I have an unrooted Droid Charge.

    When I originally set up my phone, I also set up Google Latitude. It gave me the options to choose the accuracy of the GPS setting. It had 3 or 4 options. The ones I can remember are- About using cell tower (less accurate, uses less power)... The other I can kind of remember, Use GPS/phone location/etc... (uses most power, most accurate). Currently, this option is NOT in the options menu. I originally chose less power option. But, I want to change it back to most accurate.

    Currently, my gps location is not always correct and the only time it is always completely accurate is when I have wifi enabled...

    My blackberry, I chose the most accurate option and it it always accurate to "3 meters".

    Btw, I am not referring to the "Location Reporting" menu.

    Is there a way to fix this without hard reset?

    I tried to uninstall Google Maps but, the only option was to uninstall updates. Once I did, it updated automatically within a few mins.

    thank you your help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    The GPS option isn't in the app. It's in Settings->Location & security (at least on my Droid it is).

    GPS only applies to GPS (i.e. using GPS satellites). Cell tower triangulation is not GPS. WiFi location is not GPS either.

    If you're not getting GPS accuracy (~3m) then you're not using GPS but you've already stated this yourself basically. Just be aware that GPS doesn't mean "any method of determining your location". It's specific to use of the GPS satellites to determine your location.

    Again, disabling/enabling GPS has nothing to do with the app. It's a setting for your device. The GPS receiver isn't part of the Google Maps/Nav app. It's a piece of hardware in your device that can be used by any GPS-enabled app.
     
  3. utoypia

    utoypia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I know cell tower and wifi are not gps.
    You don't get it. Yes, Settings-location is for the phone itself. Latitudes has options when you first set up latitude on your phone (not the automatic detect, set location,hide location menu). The options screen im looking for has a list of accuracy options. The last option on that screen says something like- gps+cell (most accurate, uses most power).

    I even tried to hard reset the phone thinking id see that screen again but, seems as if lungs already knew my settings so I wasn't given those particular options. Perhaps took settings from my email address.
     
  4. utoypia

    utoypia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    With my blackberry, anytime I had to hard reset, I had to reinstall latitude. Everything I did, that screen in looking for would pop right up. The app gives you those options, not the hardware.
     
  5. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    I'm pretty sure that Latitude will use whatever the phone is using. So if the GPS is on, then it will use it. If its off, it will use tower triangulation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...