1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Maps Navigation

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by monkegeo, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. monkegeo

    monkegeo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    Not sure if this is for 1.5 (I'm on 2.1), but Google Maps now has navigation and multi-touch. There was a hacked version by Brut.All, but this is the genuine Google app.
     

    Advertisement

  2. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    Google automatically updated UK android phones overnight but not the Hero.
     
  3. monkegeo

    monkegeo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    Must just be for 2.1 ROMs then. Working on my Hero with Villains 2.1 custom ROM.
     
  4. dekky

    dekky Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    14
    0
    35
    I lost google maps app on hero where can i download it again, ive searched market but didnt find it?
     
  5. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    The new google maps works on smartphones running Android 1.6 and later. Voice commands and voice search, street view, traffic warnings, POIs and step-by-step directions are all there, so once again, for those of us still on 1.5 we loose out again. :(
     
  6. thisnameistaken

    thisnameistaken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    91
    5
    16
    UK
    Maybe I'm missing something, but isn't this pretty much useless given that it requires a data connection? You can't always rely on having a data connection available while you're driving around.

    I don't think the dedicated satnav service providers need to worry just yet.
     
  7. phillevy

    phillevy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    501
    15
    63
    Ongar, UK
    Got this on my Sense hero 2.1 ROM also - no going back to 1.5 for me:)
     
  8. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    And here's the kick in tha balls, my mate on his G1 running a stock 1.6 rom gets Google nav, Im on a Hero running 1.5 and I dont, Im starting to get a little mad with this situation, I have remained calm untill now.. I may just get myself a gun!!
     
  9. dunjamon

    dunjamon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    351
    16
    58
    Do we have to update Google Maps? I've got a Milestone, but it is not showing any Google Maps updates...am I missing something?

    edit...never mind, managed to get it working!
     
  10. trick202

    trick202 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009

    Aug 26, 2009
    949
    49
    88
    Designer
    UK
    It's HTC.

    They slid it in there so gently, promising to stop if it hurt - but you guys have been fooked.

    To be on 1.5 at this stage is a DISGRACE!
     
  11. monkegeo

    monkegeo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    I've tried this and it hardly uses any data for a trip. Also it must cache the maps for the route ahead as it never loses maps even when you lose signal. It's not the best sat-nav, but it is good. The only problems now are:

    1) You need to install a custom ROM, but I see no downsides to this.
    2) No good for international travel where data charges are crippling.

    On Google's blog they have stated that they're working on downloading maps and loading them on your device. Then sat-nav manufacturers should be very worried with Nokia and Android having free sat-nav.
     
  12. themonkster

    themonkster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    97
    5
    16
    I've got Nav on my 2.1 ROM, the street view navigation is amazing, that is the future of Sat Nav systems..
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...