1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Maps Update Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by black743, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. black743

    black743 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    44
    1
    16
    I did the update of Google Maps earlier today and it freezes every time I try to use it. Looks like many others are having the same issue from reading the comments posted.

    Anyone on here experiencing this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. finnaginagain

    finnaginagain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    273
    3
    36
    mine works fine
     
  3. black743

    black743 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    44
    1
    16
    Reinstalled for the 3rd time and finally working. I notice quite a few comments in the marketplace that are saying force closing and freezing...hope everything works out.
     
  4. superdorf

    superdorf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Mine FC'd while trying to test out the new search features... If I selected "wait" it eventually came around.
     
  5. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    New maps search and search results pages working fine for me...rooted on Chevy's SS 2.03 ROM.
     
  6. Gulfstream

    Gulfstream Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    166
    22
    38
    Pooler, GA (Savannah)
    Working fine on DM 1.0, it installs a live wallpaper too, it's a map with your current location, kinda' cool!
     
  7. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333

    hey that is pretty cool. it's interactive too...sorta. double tap to zoom and it shows traffic, satellite and terrain view.
     
  8. gnowak2

    gnowak2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    38
    0
    15
    Same thing with mine. Locks up and says to force close.
     
  9. gnowak2

    gnowak2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    38
    0
    15
    I had the problem but pressed wait and it now works.
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Worked great this morning on my way to work. No problems.
     
  11. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    1,228
    73
    128
    FC'd three times after initially restarting it. But on the fourth time, I just waited and it came around. Probably sorting out what device it's on and which features to let loose on it.
     
  12. Hola91

    Hola91 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    64
    6
    16
    Hamilton, NJ
    It was freezing and force closing for me. Uninstalled updates and reinstalled. Seems to be working now. I don't know how I feel about the new arrow when stationary and it seems a little less accurate but I will stay optimistic and give it a chance.
     
  13. oceanlight

    oceanlight Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    339
    8
    36
    USA
    what he said. seems like it's just taking longer for it to load or whatever. if i wait a minute before using it, it works fine.
     
  14. rogue994

    rogue994 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    58
    2
    16
    I can't even install it. I've tried 3 times to download and install from Marketplace. Keep getting 'installation successful'...any ideas....

    Oh...rooted running Chevy
     

Share This Page

Loading...