1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Google Music Beta

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by VoidedSaint, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    just for information for everyone using Google Music Beta

    after 1 day of sitting in the All Things Root Section i will move this to tips and tricks


    if you are a google beta music tester, and you have flashed multiple roms on your phone and when you try to stream music from google, and you get the you have authorized blah blah blah deauthorize an account to use this service.

    Google music beta has a certain number of accounts that are associated with Google Music Beta
    it allows only 8
    once you have reached 8 you have to go to the website to deactivate a several accounts.

    now for instance this is what i found was my issue

    open google music on my phone, no file could be played because it said i had too many accounts linked to my google music, i instantly thought wtf! is google giving away information that allows others to connect to my music?
    so i go on to google music beta, go under settings to see what is connected to it
    nick-pc
    Motorola DROIDX
    Motorola DROIDX
    Motorola DROIDX
    Motorola DROIDX
    Motorola DROIDX
    Motorola DROIDX
    Motorola DROIDX

    all within 1 to 2 days apart from 1 another

    i dont remember because this happened last night that i took care of it, but im going by sheer memory.

    i deactivated each Motorola DROIDX account, and reopened google music back on my phone, sure enough i was able to listen to music again.

    so in other words

    if you flash a new rom, or wipe data/factory reset deactivate your google music on the dx through the web, or else it will continue to build up like mine has. However it may have just been an anomaly for me. But if you have flashed multiple roms and are on Google Music Beta, check to see what is connected to you.

    again i will move this thread to tips in tricks after a day, i just figured some of you would want to know this nice little bit of information. Because apparently google music doesnt read esn or s/ns for phones they just recognize the phone and whenever google music is reinstalled, well you get the idea.
     

    Advertisement

    Flying_Hellfish likes this.
  2. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I think I've wiped/reactivated my account more than 8 times and I haven't had any issues with Google music. I'm going to go check my music account and delete some of them if that's the case.
     
  3. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    as have i, 8 times should be the least since i have signed up for google music, but thats what it said for me
     
  4. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I only had 5 different instances, maybe because of the way I restored it with TiBu, I don't know. Anyway, I deleted all but two entries, my home PC and my DX ;)

    Thanks for the heads up :D
     
  5. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    I have my PC and 3 "Moto DroidX"s linked as of now. Guess I don't flash as much as I should. lol
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Yeah I had the same issue but figured out what you posted weeks ago. :p
     
  7. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    then why didnt you post this info? :p

    and it just happened to me so thats why i decided it was a good write up to let everyone know ^_^
    VoidedSaint 1
    Trooper 0
    :p

    im just glad that i wasnt the only one with this issue, so it must be something i would guess we need to contact google about, and put that in on feedback.
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Cos Im not a guide that's why. Lol.

    Yeah it seems like its happened to others I know as well. I just did some troubleshooting awhile ago and was like ok wow that's what causes it.

    Yeah contacting Google would be a good idea fo sho.
     
  9. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    im sure 1 person will not be able to make the change in that, we may all need to contact them so they know the deal is not just relevant to one person or one group.... course we do root, and sbf back to stock.... maybe thats what causes the issue???
     
  10. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    It's not that big of a deal, you can easily fix it yourself by removing the extra accounts.
     
  11. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    true, but how many people do you know that just arent that computer savy?
    VoidedSaint 2
    Trooper 0
    Bouchigo 0
     
  12. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Well stop flashing so many Roms :p

    bouchigo - wins
    VoidedSaint - loses
     
  13. gallandof

    gallandof Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    fixed ^ (-3 for the DBZ avatar :p)


    thanks for the tip!
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Bravo bo!

    VoidedSaint loses for being to proud of himself. :p:eek::rolleyes::D
     
  15. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
  16. aflat

    aflat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    32
    6
    16
    But if they aren't computer savy, they usually won't hit this issue since they aren't the ones flashing all those roms. Usually...
     
  17. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    You all suck.

    BV: a billion
    Everyone else: negative five.
     
  18. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    being computer savy and playing with your android phone is different, some people may have to wipe data and cache a few times on their phones because of errors, it happens, when my DX vibrate quit working, i simply took it back to verizon, they factory reset it, the vibrate worked for 1 day, then it died again so i said forget that mess and just left it alone, so that kinda thing can happen.

    or

    if they want their friends to listen to their music so they log onto their friends pc and use google music under their gmail id... same concept..

    gah!!!
    dont make me sick chuck norris on you!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...