1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Nav -- Hero vs. Droid

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by victrola, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. victrola

    victrola Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    i tried searching for the answer to this question, but i couldn't find it.

    a buddy of mine has a droid. when navigating using google nav, the point of view shown looks like all the navigation displays out there -- like you're looking out your windshield at the street.

    when i launch google nav on my hero, the point of view shows the car on the street shown from directly above -- like a map view.

    now, i'm not talking about the street view mode, just the regular display.

    has anyone else noticed this difference? and, is there a way to set my point of view to the one that is on the droid?

    thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    google maps and google navigation is two separate apps
     
  3. victrola

    victrola Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    both of them do turn-by-turn? or is that only navigation?

     
  4. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    You can do the street view on the Hero, I've done it before a few times, during a navigation session its one of the options in the "layer" button, I'm not navigating right now obviously so I'm not exactly sure how to perform this. Also my Hero is rooted running customer ROM 2.0d... not sure if this makes a difference.
     
  5. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Nav runs through maps. They are two different apps, but you can get to nav in maps, also
     
  6. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    I think what you want is the 3D view that Google Navigation offers. It is in the settings if you press the Menu button while in Google Navigation. I do not know exactly what the setting is called as I have not messed around with Google Navigation in a couple weeks. However, I am certain it has something to do with 3D view.

    Unfortunately, you have to switch to this 3D view every time you start Google Navigation as there is no setting to make this default. Hopefully, in the future, Google adds a button in the settings that lets you toggle it to start out in 3D every time you start the Google Navigation app.
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    Well I decided to play with Google Nav and I do not see a 3D option, I also do not see a street view option, I did go to there website and it shows you can hit the route with your finger and it will zoom into street view, but mine will not do so, it will zoom but not to full street view, the best I can come up with is a satellite view and zoom that but still not full street view, if anyone knows how to do this please post it, I am using the Google Nav one with the blue arrow, street view posted below

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    Don,
    Longpress on the route and you will get the street view. (edit: it looks like it's a double tap that brings up the street view)

    .02
     
    DonB likes this.
  9. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    Droid.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    I did try that, maybe not long enough, let me try it again and see
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    No Hero
     
  12. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    Just edited my response Don... it looks like it's a double tap.
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    Thanks that worked, I tried everything else but the double tap, LMAO, thanks bud
     
  14. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Ahhh! You know what? I got my wires crossed and I was thinking about Sprint Navigation. It has a 3D view.

    Although, I just took a look at Sprint Navigation and you can set it to be 3D by default. The street view you have to turn on in Google Navigation each time you start the app, as I stated before. Sorry about the mix up. It was too early in the morning for me!
     
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Anyone know how to delete the recent locations, one I have in there shows the wrong address and has 2 towns written in it, want to delete if possible, thanks
     
  16. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    I can't find a way to delete recent locations. Just keep entering new ones and the old ones will be gone :)
     
  17. glen4cindy

    glen4cindy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    59
    0
    15
    Can I get this view on my Hero? This is way cool! Is this Google Nav?? I didn't know this was possible, if it is, how do I get this view on my Hero?

    Thanks!
     
  18. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Can't wait for the lawsuit after someone follows that arrow over the barrier :)
     
  19. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    Double-Tap on the place in the route you want to see an image. It's just a static image, doesn't move as you do, but lets you see what the upcoming turn looks like.
     
  20. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    267
    27
    43
    Student, Verizon Customer Care
    Boise, ID for the moment
    Someone already did, some lady was using the walking directions and crossed something like a five lane freeway (think the story is on Phandroid). Google shouldn't have to worry about lawsuits since there is a warning about things of this nature happening when you launch the app.
     
  21. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Well here is one for you all, I just got my replacement phone from Sprint and just finish setting it up with all the apps, but for the damn of me I cannot find the little blue arrow Google Nav button I had as a shortcut. I see the Google maps, but on my old phone if I go into programs I see the navigation with the Blue arrow, any clue anyone, LOL
     
  22. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    Go to google search, and do the voice search, say navigate to..... and after it loads up, you should have the icon in your app drawer. That's what I did when I lost my icon for nav...
     
    DonB likes this.
  23. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    A reboot should put the Navigation app icon in the apps tray.
     
    DonB likes this.
  24. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    A reboot did the trick, thanks
     
  25. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,883
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,883
    3,482
    923
    they should be the same on Droid or Hero.

    but you have to make sure your Hero is updated to an android higher than 1.5. Google Navigation only works on 1.6 or higher.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...